Skip UM navigation Skip to Main Navigation

UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI SCHOOLS AND COLLEGES


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.

SOCIOLOGY & ANTHROPOLOGY

Faculty in SOCIOLOGY & ANTHROPOLOGY

B

Scott Martin Barretta

INSTRUCTOR IN SOCIOLOGY AND ANTHROPOLOGY
511 Lamar Hall
University, MS 38677
barretta@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

C

Katherine McGurn Centellas

CROFT ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF ANTHROPOLOGY
561 Lamar, Sociology & Anthropology
University, MS 38677
kmcentel@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

Barbara Combs

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF SOCIOLOGY
103 LEAVELL HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
bcombs@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-7421

D

Simone P Delerme

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF ANTHROPOLOGY AND MCMULLAN ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF SOUTHERN STUDIES
523 Lamar
University, MS 38677
sdelerme@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

Kirsten A Dellinger

CHAIR OF SOCIOLOGY AND ANTHROPOLOGY AND ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF SOCIOLOGY
Ventress Hall
University, MS 38677
kdelling@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7177

F

W Mark Franks

ADJUNCT INSTRUCTOR IN SOCIOLOGY AND ANTHROPOLOGY
510 Lamar Hall
University, MS 38677
wmfranks@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

Carolyn R Freiwald

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF ANTHROPOLOGY
544 Lamar Hall
University, MS 38677
crfreiwa@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-6544

Mark Vincent Frezzo

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF SOCIOLOGY
SOUTHAVEN/LIBERAL ARTS
SOUTHAVEN, MS 38671
mvfrezzo@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-7177

G

John J Green

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF SOCIOLOGY AND DIRECTOR OF THE CENTER FOR POPULATION STUDIES
SOCIOLOGY AND ANTHROPOLOGY, P.O. BOX 1848 537 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
jjgreen@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-7295

Sandra H Grisham

Instructor in Sociology and Anthropology
103 Leavell Hall
University, MS 38677
sgrisham@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-7421

H

James W Hill

INSTRUCTOR IN SOCIOLOGY AND ANTHROPOLOGY
510 Lamar Hall
University, MS 38677
jwhill1@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-7421

J

Jeffrey T Jackson

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF SOCIOLOGY
509 Lamar Hall
University, MS 38677
jacksonj@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5230

Willa Elaine Mathis Johnson

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF SOCIOLOGY
540 Lamar Hall
University, MS 38677
wjohnson@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

K

Michele S Katterjohn

ADJUNCT INSTRUCTOR IN SOCIOLOGY AND ANTHROPOLOGY
510 Lamar Hall
University, MS 38677
mskatter@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

L

Diane W Lindley

ADJUNCT INSTRUCTOR IN SOCIOLOGY AND ANTHROPOLOGY
510 Lamar Hall
University, MS 38677
dlindley@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

M

Amy Denise McDowell

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF SOCIOLOGY
513 Lamar Hall
University, MS 38677
mcdowell@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-1235

Marcos Alexander Mendoza

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF ANTHROPOLOGY
547 Lamar Hall
University, MS 38677
mendoza@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7343

Maureen Elizabeth Meyers

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF ANTHROPOLOGY
103 LEAVELL HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
memeyer1@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-7421

Matthew Leigh Murray

INSTRUCTIONAL ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF SOCIOLOGY AND ANTHROPOLOGY
553 Lamar Hall
University, MS 38677
mlmurray@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-3995

N

Jamie Christine Nelms

ADJUNCT INSTRUCTOR IN SOCIOLOGY AND ANTHROPOLOGY AND TUTOR
103 LEAVELL HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
jcnelms@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-7421

O

Minjoo Oh

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF SOCIOLOGY
526 Lamar Hall
University, MS 38677
minjoo@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-3454

S

JENNIFER STEPHANIE SNOOK

INSTRUCTIONAL ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF SOCIALOGY AND ANTHROPOLOGY
103 LEAVELL HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
jsnook@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-7421

Edward Reese Sharpe

ADJUNCT INSTRUCTOR IN SOCIOLOGY AND ANTHROPOLOGY
103 LEAVALL HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
esharpe@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-7421

Jodi Skipper

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF ANTHROPOLOGY
522 Lamar Hall
University, MS 38677
jskippe1@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

John Harwood Sonnett

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF SOCIOLOGY
531 Lamar Hall
University, MS 38677
sonnett@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7316

T

RICHARD KENNETH THOMAS

ADJUNCT INSTRUCTOR IN SOCIOLOGY AND ANTHROPOLOGY
E F YERBY
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
rkthomas@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-7282

James Michael Thomas

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF SOCIOLOGY AND ANTHROPOLOGY
514 Lamar Hall
University, MS 38677
jmthoma4@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

W

JAMES A WHITAKER

ADJUNCT INSTRUCTOR IN SOCIOLOGY AND ANTHROPOLOGY
5410 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
jawhitak@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-7421

Y

AHMET YUKLEYEN

CROFT ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF ANTHROPOLOGY
103 LEAVELL HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
yukleyen@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-5733


Emeritus Faculty

G

VAUGHN L GRISHAM

PROFESSOR EMERITUS AND DIRECTOR OF THE GOEORGE MCLEAN CENTER FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT
510 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
vgrisham@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7326

S

EDWARD B SISSON

Associate Professor Emeritus of Anthropology
549 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
sasisson@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-3446

T

ROBERT M THORNE

Professor Emeritus of Anthropology
510 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
rmthorne@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7316

W

MAX WARREN WILLIAMS

Professor Emeritus of Sociology and Anthropology and Director Emeritus of the Center for Population Studies
510 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
samax@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7288

The policies and regulations contained in this online University of Mississippi Catalog are in effect for the current or selected semester. The catalog is not a contract, but rather a guide for the convenience of students. The University of Mississippi reserves the right to 1) change or withdraw courses; 2) change the fees, rules, and schedules for admission, registration, instruction, and graduation; and 3) change other regulations affecting the student body at any time. Implicit in each student’s enrollment with the university is an agreement to comply with university rules and regulations, which the university may modify to exercise properly its educational responsibility.