Skip UM navigation Skip to Main Navigation

UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI SCHOOLS AND COLLEGES


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.

Sociology & Anthropology

Faculty in Sociology & Anthropology

A

Zachary Miller Adamz

Croft Visiting Assistant Professor of Anthropology and Korean Studies
534 Lamar Hall
University, MS 38677
zmadamz@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

B

Scott Martin Barretta

Instructor in Sociology and Anthropology
511 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
barretta@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

C

Anne Elizabeth Marie Cafer

Assistant Professor of Sociology and Director, Center for Population Studies
543 Lamar Hall
University, MS 38677
amcafer@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5733

Katherine McGurn Centellas

Croft Associate Professor of Anthropology
LAMAR 561
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
kmcentel@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

Miguel Centellas

Croft Instructional Associate Professor of Sociology
561 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
mcentell@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

D

Simone P Delerme

Associate Professor of Anthropology and McMullan Associate Professor of Southern Studies
523 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
sdelerme@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

F

W Mark Franks

Adjunct Instructor in Sociology & Anthropology
510 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
wmfranks@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

Carolyn R Freiwald

Associate Professor of Anthropology
544 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
crfreiwa@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-6544

G

Eleanor Green

Adjunct Instructor in Sociology and Anthropology
510 Lamar Hall
University, MS 38677
emgreen@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

Sandra H Grisham

Instructor in Sociology and Anthropology
103 LEAVELL HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
sgrisham@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

H

James W Hill

Instructor in Sociology & Anthropology
510 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
jwhill1@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

J

Jeffrey T Jackson

Chair and Professor of Sociology
509 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
jacksonj@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5230

Willa Elaine Mathis Johnson

PROFESSOR OF SOCIOLOGY
540 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
wjohnson@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

K

Michele S Katterjohn

Instructor in Sociology and Anthropology and Nutrition and Hospitality Management
510 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
mskatter@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

L

Diane W Lindley

Instructor in Sociology and Anthropology
510 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
dlindley@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

M

Amy Denise McDowell

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF SOCIOLOGY
513 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
mcdowell@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-1235

Marcos Alexander Mendoza

Associate Professor of Anthropology
LAMAR HALL 547
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
mendoza@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7343

Matthew Leigh Murray

INSTRUCTIONAL PROFESSOR OF SOCIOLOGY AND ANTHROPOLOGY
553 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
mlmurray@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-3995

N

Albert Benson Nylander III

Professor of Sociology and Director of the McLean Institute for Public Service & Community Engagement
311 HOWRY
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
nylander@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-2050

O

Lexi O'Donnell

Visiting Assistant Professor of Biological Anthropology
510 Lamar Hall
University, MS 38677
aodonne@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

Minjoo Oh

Associate Professor of Sociology
526 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
minjoo@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-3454

Jessica Omoregie

Visiting Assistant Professor of Sociology
510 Lamar Hall
University, MS 38677
jmomoreg@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

S

Jodi Skipper

Associate Professor of Anthropology
522 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
jskippe1@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

John Harwood Sonnett

Associate Professor of Sociology
531 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
sonnett@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7316

T

James Michael Thomas

Associate Professor of Sociology and Anthropology
514 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
jmthoma4@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421

V

Ana Milenova Velitchkova

Croft Assistant Professor of Sociology and International Studies
510 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
avelitch@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7421


Emeritus Faculty

G

VAUGHN L GRISHAM

PROFESSOR EMERITUS AND DIRECTOR OF THE GOEORGE MCLEAN CENTER FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT
510 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
vgrisham@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7326

J

JAY K JOHNSON

PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF ANTHROPOLOGY
506 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
sajay@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7339

L

Elise S Lake

Emerita Associate Professor of Sociology and Research Associate Professor of Population Studies
539 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
salake@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7737

S

EDWARD B SISSON

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF ANTHROPOLOGY
549 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
sasisson@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-3446

T

ROBERT M THORNE

PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF ANTHROPOLOGY
510 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
rmthorne@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7316

W

MAX WARREN WILLIAMS

Professor Emeritus of Sociology and Anthropology and Director Emeritus of The Center for Population Studies
510 LAMAR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
samax@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7288

The policies and regulations contained in this online University of Mississippi Catalog are in effect for the current or selected semester. The catalog is not a contract, but rather a guide for the convenience of students. The University of Mississippi reserves the right to 1) change or withdraw courses; 2) change the fees, rules, and schedules for admission, registration, instruction, and graduation; and 3) change other regulations affecting the student body at any time. Implicit in each student’s enrollment with the university is an agreement to comply with university rules and regulations, which the university may modify to exercise properly its educational responsibility.