Skip UM navigation Skip to Main Navigation


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.

Minor - Public Health

Minor - Public Health


The public health minor at UM has been designed for students as an introduction to public health as a discipline. The coursework for the minor will build public health knowledge and skills for students interested in protecting and promoting the health of people and their communities. This minor is open to students in pre-professional health tracks (e.g., medicine, dentistry, nursing, physical therapy, occupational therapy, allied health), in fields that incorporate an overall health and wellness focus (e.g., nutrition, social work, communication sciences and disorders), or other disciplines that potentially intersect with the public health system.

Course Requirements

The minor in public health consists of the following:

Required courses:

Choose at least three additional courses:
The policies and regulations contained in this online University of Mississippi Catalog are in effect for the current or selected semester. The catalog is not a contract, but rather a guide for the convenience of students. The University of Mississippi reserves the right to 1) change or withdraw courses; 2) change the fees, rules, and schedules for admission, registration, instruction, and graduation; and 3) change other regulations affecting the student body at any time. Implicit in each student’s enrollment with the university is an agreement to comply with university rules and regulations, which the university may modify to exercise properly its educational responsibility.