Skip UM navigation Skip to Main Navigation

UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI SCHOOLS AND COLLEGES


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.

Teacher Education

Faculty in Teacher Education

A

Donna Peterson Akers

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
1918 Briar Ridge Road
University, MS 38677
dpakers@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 844-5622

Joel C Amidon

Professor of Teacher Education
Teacher Education
University, MS 38677
jcamidon@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7588

Erica Avent

Assistant Professor of Elementary Education
317 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
eavent@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

B

Josie Bain

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
1060 Grenada Center
Grenada, MS 38901
jkbain@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 227-2348

Allan Edward Bellman

Professor of Mathematics Education
320 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
abellman@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5309

Tom Brady

Department Chair and Associate Professor of Teacher Education
317 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
tbrady@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-2203

Pamela Brown Briscoe

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
316 Guyton
University, MS 38677
pbbrisco@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

Lisa Britton

Adjunct Instructional Assistant Professor of Teacher Education
316 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
lnbritto@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

C

Miriam Carman

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
317 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
mscarman@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

Amber Jean Carpenter-McCullough

Associate Professor of Teacher Education
222 Guyton
University, MS 38677
ajmccoll@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

Qiang Cheng

Associate Professor of Elementary Education
5197 W E Ross Parkway
Southaven, MS 38671
qcheng@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 342-4765

Mary Kathryn Clayton

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
Office of Outreach,Booneville Campus
University, MS 38677
mkclayt1@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7283

Jen Cornett

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
3805 US 80 East
Pearl, MS 39208
jlcornet@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-8208

William Michael Cox

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
Hill Hall 3rd Floor
University, MS 38677
wmcox@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7426

Kayla Camille Crook

Assistant Professor of Special Education
328 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
kccrook@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-1153

Svjetlana Curcic

Associate Professor of Special Education
1918 Briar Ridge Road
Tupelo, MS 38801
scurcic@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-6219

Lacey Cutrer

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
Office of Outreach
University, MS 38677
lcwinste@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7283

D

Whitney Drewrey

Clinical Instructor of Special Education
231 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
wndrewre@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

F

LaToya Fluker

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
1060 Avent Drive Grenada Center
Grenada, MS 38901
llspurlo@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 227-2348

Ellen Foster

Professor of Teacher Education
318 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
ejfoster@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-3760

Chip Foster

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
Office of Outreach Grenada Center
University, MS 38677
rfoster1@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7382

Christopher M Furlow

Adjunct Instructional Assistant Professor of Teacher Education
316 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
cmfurlow@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

G

Lane R Gauthier

Associate Professor of Teacher Education
203 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
gauthier@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-2005

Sam Gilbert

Clinical Assistant Professor of Teacher Education
329 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
sgedward@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-2937

Ashley Barrows Goralczyk

Instructor in Teacher Education
Ofc 239B Tupelo Campus
Tupelo, MS 38804
abgoralc@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-6256

H

Alina Michelle Harges

Clinical Assistant Professor of Teacher Education
233 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
amharges@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-2163

Rose Hickey

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
316 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
rmhickey@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

Lauren Hill

Instructor in Health and Physical Education
Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
lscott@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

Renee Hill-Cunningham

Associate Professor of Mathematics Education
336 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
reneec@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-2161

Rodney Hurt

Instructor in Teacher Education
308 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
rhhurt@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7738

Tori Hutchinson

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
49 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
vdhutchi@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

I

Rosemary Oliphant Ingham

Professor of Teacher Education
331 Guyton
University, MS 38677
ringham@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7589

J

Beverly Johnston

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
3805 US 80 E
Pearl, MS 39208
bbjohnst@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-8208

Lisa Jordan Jordan

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
000 Jackson Avenue Center
University, MS 38655
lmjordan@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7283

K

Anna Keskin

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
316 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
akeskin@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

Burhanettin Keskin

Professor of Early Childhood Education
321 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
bkeskin@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5891

Tammy Louise Kirkland

Instructor in Teacher Education and Coordinator of World Class Teaching Program
255 Insight Dr
University, MS 38677
kirkland@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7249

Ginger Koestler

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
3805 US 80 E
Pearl, MS 39208
glkoestl@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-8208

L

Kristina Dawn Livingston

Assistant Professor of Elementary Education
317 Guyton Hall
University, MS 386770000
kdard@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

Nikki Logan

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
316 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
mnlogan@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

Diane Lawrence Lowry

Clinical Associate Professor of Special Education
335 Guyton, Teacher Education
University, MS 38677
dlowry@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5753

M

Lane Maxcy

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
49 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
lemaxcy@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

Jan Mays

Clinical Assistant Professor of Elementary Education
316 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
cjmays@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

Leigh Miller

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
0 Desoto Center
University, MS 38677
lmiller@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7283

Kristen N Morgan

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
316 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
knmorgan@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

Rose Morlino

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
316 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
rmmorlin@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

Michael Seth Mott

Professor of Elementary Education
317 Guyton Hall
Oxford, MS 38677
msmott@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

N

Katie Yarborough Naron

Instructor in Teacher Education
Teacher Education, 316 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
mkyarbo1@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

Cynthia Newman

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
Grenada Center-160 Avent Dr
Oxford, MS 38655
crnewman@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 227-2348

Alex Nosef

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
316 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
apweiss1@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

O

Mark Jason Ortwein

Associate Professor of Teacher Education
Curriculum and Instruction, Desoto Center-Southaven
Desoto, MS 38671
mortwein@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 342-4765

P

Sara Ann Grimes Platt

Assistant Dean and Director of Assessment and Accreditation, Assistant Professor of Special Education
Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
saplatt@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7063

Felicia Brown Pollard

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education and and Leadership and Counselor Education
316 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
ffbrown@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

Elizabeth Mitchell Prewitt

Clinical Associate Professor of Elementary Education
12A EF Yerby Center
University, MS 38677
eamitche@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

Laura F Prior

Associate Professor of Teacher Education
316 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
lfprior@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

Q

Joshua Quong

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
316 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
jrquong@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

Sally Quong

Clinical Assistant Professor of Education and Coordinator of Field Experience
3115 Guyton Hall Annex
University, MS 38655
sjbooth1@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7352

R

Nicole Roberson

Instructor in Secondary Science Education and Director of the Mississippi Public School Consortium for Educational Access
322 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
nrob@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5921

Angela Sykes Rutherford

Professor of Teacher Education and Director of the Center for Excellence in Literacy Instruction
270, Kinard Hall
University, MS 38677
araines@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-1919

S

Hillary Sapanski

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
3805 US 80 E
Pearl, MS 39208
hesapans@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-8208

Karen V Davidson Smith

Clinical Associate Professor of Teacher Education; School of Education Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
1060 Avent Dr
Grenada, MS 38901
kvdavids@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 227-2366

Suzanne Smith

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
1060 Avent Dr Grenada Center
Grenada, MS 38901
sssmit16@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 227-2348

Denise A Soares

Assistant Dean, Director of Graduate Studies, Professor of Special Education, and Interim Director of the National Center for School-University Partnerships
228 Guyton
University, MS 38677
dasoares@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7198

Alicia Cooper Stapp

Associate Professor of Health and Physical Education
316 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
acstapp@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

Alice Steimle

Instructional Assistant Professor of Teacher Education and Director for Center for Mathematics and Science Education
Jackson Ave. Center, Ste G
University, MS 38677
asteimle@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-6621

Christy Suggs

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
100 Jackson Avenue Center
University, MS 38677
clfrazi2@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7283

William Joseph Sumrall

Professor of Elementary Education
328 Guyton
University, MS 38677
sumrall@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

Joseph Patrick Sweeney

Clinical Associate Professor and Director of Mississippi Teacher Corps
227 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
jsweeney@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-2616

T

Hunter Allen Taylor

Clinical Assistant Professor of Teacher Education and Coordinator of the Online Minor in Education
301 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
hataylo4@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-2163

Roy J Thurston

Associate Professor of Special Education
Curriculum & Instruction
University, MS 38655
rthursto@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7063

Leah Tiisler

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
316 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
lktiisle@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

V

Courtney Van Cleve

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
316 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
cavancle@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

Shushan Vardanyan

Assistant Professor of Early Childhood Education
320 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
svardany@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7622

W

Haley Wilson

Adjunct Instructor in Teacher Education
Office of Outreach
University, MS 38677
hhdrake@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7283

Candies Winfun-Cook

Clinical Assistant Professor of Teacher Education
Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
cnwinfun@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-2203

Kenya Elizabeth Wolff

Associate Professor of Early Childhood Education
325 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
kewolff@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350


Emeritus Faculty

C

MARTHA S CHAMBLESS

Professor Emerita of Elementary Education
333 GUYTON
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
mchamble@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7625

DEBORAH A CHESSIN

Professor Emerita of Curriculum and Instruction
301 GUYTON
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
dchessin@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5878

Mary Ann Connell

Adjunct Professor of Leadership & Counselor Education
850 Insight Park Suite 253C
University, MS 38677
mconnell@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-2432

E

PEGGY EMERSON

Chair Emerita and Professor Emerita of Curriculum
112 EDUCATION
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
memerson@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7123

ESIM ERDIM

Professor Emeritus of Modern Languages
13 OLD ATHLETICS
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
eerdim@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7915

H

Larry G Hanshaw

Professor Emeritus of Secondary Science Education
120 GUYTON HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
lhanshaw@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-2652

Kerry P Holmes

Professor Emerita of Elementary Education
316 GUYTON
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
kholmes@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7350

L

Fannye E Love

Professor Emerita of Teacher Education
DESOTO REGIONAL CAMPUS, 5197 W. E. Ross Parkway
SOUTHAVEN, MS 38671
flove@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 342-4765

M

Susan S McClelland

Professor Emerita of Leadership and Counselor Education and Director of METP
GUYTON HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
ssmc@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-3847

Jerilou J Moore

Professor Emeritus of Elementary Education
333 GUYTON
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
jjmoore@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7622

Virginia J Moore

Associate Professor Emeritus of Elementary Education
335 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677
vjmoore@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-6260

Andrew P Mullins

CHIEF OF STAFF TO THE CHANCELLOR EMERITUS, ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR EMERITUS, AND ASSISTANT DIRECTOR EMERITUS OF THE MISSISSIPPI TEACHER CORPS
231 GUYTON
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
amullins@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7064

P

SUSAN KAYE PEPPER

Assistant Dean Emerita School of Education and Professor Emerita of Teacher Education
205 GUYTON
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
kpepper@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-3996

James S Payne

Emeritus Professor of Special Education
322 GUYTON
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
edjp@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5921

R

Sidney T Rowland

Associate Professor Emerita of Teacher Education
Jackson Avenue Center Suite L
Oxford, MS 38655
srowland@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7314

S

JEAN M SHAW

Professor Emerita of Curriculum and Instruction
201-A EDUCATION
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
jshawloo@aol.comUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7100

The policies and regulations contained in this online University of Mississippi Catalog are in effect for the current or selected semester. The catalog is not a contract, but rather a guide for the convenience of students. The University of Mississippi reserves the right to 1) change or withdraw courses; 2) change the fees, rules, and schedules for admission, registration, instruction, and graduation; and 3) change other regulations affecting the student body at any time. Implicit in each student’s enrollment with the university is an agreement to comply with university rules and regulations, which the university may modify to exercise properly its educational responsibility.