Skip UM navigation Skip to Main Navigation


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.

College of Liberal Arts

Degrees Offered

The college offers the Bachelor of Arts degree with a major in 30 fields and Bachelor of Science degrees in 5 fields. Other courses of study lead to the Bachelor of Fine Arts and Bachelor of Music. At the graduate level, the college supports 13 Master of Arts degrees, four Master of Science degrees, two Master of Fine Arts degrees, the Master of Music degree, and 10 Ph.D. degrees.

College of Liberal Arts

African American Studies Program

Arch Dalrymple III Department of History

Art & Art History


Center for the Study of Southern Culture

Chemistry & Biochemistry


Computer & Information Science



International Studies


Modern Languages


Philosophy & Religion

Physics & Astronomy

Political Science


Public Policy Leadership

Sociology & Anthropology

Theatre & Film

The policies and regulations contained in this online University of Mississippi Catalog are in effect for the current or selected semester. The catalog is not a contract, but rather a guide for the convenience of students. The University of Mississippi reserves the right to 1) change or withdraw courses; 2) change the fees, rules, and schedules for admission, registration, instruction, and graduation; and 3) change other regulations affecting the student body at any time. Implicit in each student’s enrollment with the university is an agreement to comply with university rules and regulations, which the university may modify to exercise properly its educational responsibility.