Skip UM navigation Skip to Main Navigation


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.




116 Meek Hall
University, MS 38677


The Department of Art offers a minor and the Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) in art history and a minor, Bachelor of Arts (B.A.), Bachelor of Fine Arts (B.F.A.), and Master of Fine Arts (M.F.A.) in art. The B.A. degree is offered for students who wish to major in art as part of a liberal arts education. The B.F.A. degree is offered to qualifying students who seek a more intensive studio art program as a professional degree or as preparation for graduate study. Entrance into the B.F.A. program is by application and competitive review, typically taking place during the fourth semester of enrollment. Students may concentrate in ceramics, graphic design, imaging arts (photography and digital arts), painting, printmaking, or sculpture. For the M.F.A. in art, students complete an emphasis in ceramics, painting, printmaking, or sculpture.


All degree offerings of the Department of Art are fully accredited by the National Association of Schools of Art and Design.

The policies and regulations contained in this online University of Mississippi Catalog are in effect for the current or selected semester. The catalog is not a contract, but rather a guide for the convenience of students. The University of Mississippi reserves the right to 1) change or withdraw courses; 2) change the fees, rules, and schedules for admission, registration, instruction, and graduation; and 3) change other regulations affecting the student body at any time. Implicit in each student’s enrollment with the university is an agreement to comply with university rules and regulations, which the university may modify to exercise properly its educational responsibility.