Skip UM navigation Skip to Main Navigation


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.

Minor - Physics

Minor - Physics


A minor consists of 18 hours in physics, which must include the Phys 211, 212, 221, 222 sequence or the 213, 214, 223, 224 sequence, and at least 10 hours chosen from 303, 308, 309, 310, 315 or 317, 318, 319, 321, 401, 402, 415 or 417, 422, and 451. Students following the 211/212 sequence cannot take Phys 303 for credit toward the minor. Physics courses at the appropriate level may be substituted at the discretion of the department.

The policies and regulations contained in this online University of Mississippi Catalog are in effect for the current or selected semester. The catalog is not a contract, but rather a guide for the convenience of students. The University of Mississippi reserves the right to 1) change or withdraw courses; 2) change the fees, rules, and schedules for admission, registration, instruction, and graduation; and 3) change other regulations affecting the student body at any time. Implicit in each student’s enrollment with the university is an agreement to comply with university rules and regulations, which the university may modify to exercise properly its educational responsibility.