Skip UM navigation Skip to Main Navigation

UNIVERSITY OF MISSISSIPPI SCHOOLS AND COLLEGES


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.

SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING

Faculty in SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING

A

Ahmed Al-Ostaz

BREVARD FAMILY CHAIR IN CIVIL ENGINEERING AND PROFESSOR OF CIVIL ENGINEERING
207 B Carrier Hall
University, MS 38677
alostaz@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5364

Hunain Alkhateb

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF CIVIL ENGINEERING
210 Carrier Hall
University, MS 38677
hsalkhat@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5368

Mustafa Siddik Altinakar

DIRECTOR AND PROFESSOR OF NATIONAL CENTER FOR COMPUTATOINAL HYDROSCIENCE AND ENGINEERING
BREVARD HALL RM 327, P.O. BOX 1848
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
altinakar@ncche.olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-7788

B

RUSSELL MARION BARNES

ADJUNCT INSTRUCTOR IN COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SCIENCE
232 WEIR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
rmbarne1@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-7396

C

JAMES P CHAMBERS

ASSOCIATE DEAN FOR RESEARCH AND GRADUATE PROGRAMS, ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING AND SENIOR SCIENTIST, NATIONAL CENTER FOR PHYSICAL ACOUSTICS
227 BREVARD HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
chambers@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-7407

Lei Cao

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING
314 Anderson Hall
University, MS 38677
lcao@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5389

Yixin Chen

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SCIENCE
207 Weir Hall
University, MS 38677
yixin@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7438

D

YAN DING

INTERIM ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR OF ADMINISTRATION AND RESEARCH ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR
335 BREVARD HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
ding@ncche.olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-8969

John N Daigle

PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING
20 Anderson Hall
University, MS 38677
wcdaigle@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5799

Gregg R Davidson

CHAIR AND PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY AND GEOLOGICAL ENGINEERING
120 Carrier Hall
University, MS 38677
davidson@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5824

Kristin Elizabeth Davidson

INSTRUCTOR IN COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SCIENCE
212 Weir Hall
University, MS 38677
kdavidso@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5846

E

Gregory L Easson

DIRECTOR, MISSISSIPPI MINERAL RESOURCES INSTITUTE AND PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY & GEOLOGICAL ENGINEERING
111 Brevard Hall
University, MS 38677
geasson@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5995

Elizabeth Kaye Ervin

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF CIVIL ENGINEERING
207A Carrier Hall
University, MS 38677
eke@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5618

G

Richard K Gordon

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING
16 Anderson Hall
University, MS 38677
eegordon@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5388

H

Robert M Holt

PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY AND GEOLOGICAL ENGINEERING
120B Carrier Hall
University, MS 38677
rmholt@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-6687

Erik Curtis Hurlen

INSTRUCTOR IN MECHANICAL ENGINEERING
229 CARRIER
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
echurlen@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-7219

Winn E Hutchcraft

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING
312 Anderson Hall
University, MS 38677
eeweh@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-6934

I

Matthew Inman

ADJUNCT INSTRUCTOR IN ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING
ELECTRICAL ENG., 302 ANDERSON HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
mjinman@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-7231

J

CHARLES M JENKINS

ADJUNCT ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SCIENCE
217 WEIR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
cmjenkin@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-7057

BJ Jang

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SCIENCE
215 Weir Hall
University, MS 38677
bjang@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5355

M

P TOBIN MAGINNIS

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SCIENCE
220 WEIR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
ptm@cs.olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-5357

HENRIQUE GARCIA MOMM

VISITING ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY AND GEOLOGICAL ENGINEERING
224 LESTER HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
hmomm@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-5201

Mustafa Muhammad Matalgah

PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING
12 Anderson Hall
University, MS 38677
mustafa@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5381

Tyrus A McCarty

ASSISTANT DEAN FOR SPECIAL INITIATIVES IN THE SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING AND ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING
201F Carrier
University, MS 38677
mccarty@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5377

Amrita Mishra

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING
201C CARRIER
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
amishra2@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-3491

Matthew Arthur Morrison

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING
302 ANDERSON HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
morrison@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-7231

Christopher L Mullen

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF CIVIL ENGINEERING
205 Carrier Hall
University, MS 38677
cvchris@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5370

N

Jacob Najjar

CHAIR AND PROFESSOR OF CIVIL ENGINEERING
203B Carrier Hall
University, MS 38677
ymnajjar@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5363

Sasan Nouranian

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
18 Anderson Hall
University, MS 38677
sasan@olemiss.eduUM Profile

O

Yavuz Ozeren

RESEARCH SCIENTIST
NCCHE, 344 Brevard Hall
University, MS 38677
yozeren@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-8781

P

Tejas S Pandya

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING
201G Carrier Hall
University, MS 38677
tspandya@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-6931

Amanda Patterson

INSTRUCTOR IN GEOLOGY AND GEOLOGICAL ENGINEERING
118B CARRIER HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
ahpatter@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-8786

Brian Frederic Platt

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY & GEOLOGICAL ENGINEERING
118E Carrier Hall
University, MS 38677
bfplatt@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7498

R

Arunachalam Raj Rajendran

CHAIR AND PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING
229A Carrier
University, MS 38677
raj@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5770

Philip J Rhodes

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SCIENCE
205 Weir Hall
University, MS 38677
rhodes@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7082

S

Jagdish Sharma

INSTRUCTIONAL PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING
201E CARRIER
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
jsharma@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-5698

Adam Eugene Smith

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
134B Anderson Hall
University, MS 38677
aes@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5350

Cris Surbeck

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF CIVIL ENGINEERING
106A Carrier Hall
University, MS 38677
csurbeck@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7191

U

Waheed Uddin

PROFESSOR OF CIVIL ENGINEERING AND DIRECTOR OF THE CENTER FOR ADVANCED INFRASTRUCTURE TECHNOLOGY
203 B CARRIER HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
cvuddin@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-5363

V

Ramanarayanan Viswanathan

CHAIR AND PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING
302 Anderson Hall
University, MS 38677
viswa@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7231

W

Dwight Ernest Waddell

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING; COORDINATOR OF BIOMEDICAL EMPHASIS; RESEARCH ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SCIENCE; RESEARCH ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF HEALTH, EXERCISE SCIENCE AND RECREATIONAL
C302 Brevard Hall
University, MS 38677
waddell@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-2623

Feng Wang

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SCIENCE
219 Weir Hall
University, MS 38677
fwang@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5359

X

JIANXIA XUE

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SCIENCE
217 WEIR
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
janexue@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-7057

Hui Xiong

INSTRUCTOR IN COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SCIENCE
217 Weir Hall
University, MS 38677
hxiong@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-1456

Y

Alexander Borisovitch Yakovlev

PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING
306 Anderson Hall
University, MS 38677
yakovlev@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7196

Hakan Irfan Yasarer

INSTRUCTOR IN CIVIL ENGINEERING
208 Carrier Hall
University, MS 38677
hy@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7191

Z

CYNTHIA A ZICKOS

INSTRUCTOR IN COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SCIENCE
213 WEIR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
cbzickos@olemiss.edu
1 (662) 915-7784


Emeritus Faculty

E

ATEF Z ELSHERBENI

Associate Dean Emeritus for Research and Graduate Programs and Professor of Electrical Engineering
302 ANDERSON HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
atef@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7231

G

ALLEN W GLISSON

Chair Emeritus and Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering
302 ANDERSON HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
aglisson@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7231

K P George

Professor Emeritus of Civil Engineering
207-A CARRIER
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
cvkpg@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5365

H

DONALD F HANSON

Associate Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering
302 ANDERSON HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
eehanson@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7231

JAMES E HENDRIX

Research Scientist Emeritus
302-B ANDERSON
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
jehendr1@olemiss.eduUM Profile

Stacy V Holmes

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING
302 ANDERSON HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
adholmes@olemiss.eduUM Profile

K

AHMED KISHK

Dir of Antenna Sytms Lab & Prof Emeritus of Electrical Engin
302 ANDERSON HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
ahmed@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7231

L

PAMELA B LAWHEAD

Associate Professor Emerita of Computer and Information Science
201 WEIR HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
lawhead@cs.olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7396

KAI FONG LEE

Dean Emeritus,School of Engineering, and Professor Emeritus, Electrical Engineering
302 ANDERSON HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
leek@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7231

M

RICHARD P MAJOR

Professor Emeritus of Geology and Geological Engineering
120A CARRIER HALL
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
rpm@olemiss.eduUM Profile

S

ALLIE M SMITH

Dean Emer, School of Eng and Professor Emer of Mech Eng
205 CARRIER
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
enas@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-5842

Peter C Sukanek

CHAIR EMERITUS AND PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING
232 ANDERSON
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
cmpcs@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7023

W

SAM SHU-YI WANG

Director Emeritus, National Center for Computational Hydroscience and Engineering and F.A.P.Barnard Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
NCCHE/ OLD CHEMISTRY
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
wang@ncche.olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7788

Y

KWANG SIK YUN

Professor Emeritus of Chemistry
229 CARRIER
UNIVERSITY, MS 38677
ksyun@olemiss.eduUM Profile
1 (662) 915-7219

The policies and regulations contained in this online University of Mississippi Catalog are in effect for the current or selected semester. The catalog is not a contract, but rather a guide for the convenience of students. The University of Mississippi reserves the right to 1) change or withdraw courses; 2) change the fees, rules, and schedules for admission, registration, instruction, and graduation; and 3) change other regulations affecting the student body at any time. Implicit in each student’s enrollment with the university is an agreement to comply with university rules and regulations, which the university may modify to exercise properly its educational responsibility.