Skip UM navigation Skip to Main Navigation


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.




222 Guyton Hall
University, MS 38677


The School of Education offers academic programs that prepare professionals in the fields of elementary education, secondary education (English, math, biology, chemistry, physics and social sciences), special education, literacy education, educational leadership, higher education and counselor education, supporting the mission of the University to create, evaluate, share and apply knowledge in a free, open and inclusive environment of intellectual inquiry.


The School of Education cultivates a tradition of producing inspirational teachers, leaders and counseling professionals to serve Mississippi and the nation. The School of Education is a community where faculty and students 1) imagine equality, excellence, and caring 2) innovate through collaboration, professional practice, and assessment and 3) inspire professionalism, transformation, and leadership. Focused upon emphasizing communication skills, problem solving and technology in teaching and learning, the School of Education affirms the core values of the University of Mississippi. Furthermore, the School seeks to contribute to the university's mission: "to provide an academic experience that emphasizes critical thinking; encourages intellectual depth and creativity; challenges and inspires a diverse community of undergraduate, graduate, and professional students; provides enriching opportunities outside the classroom; supports lifelong learning; and develops a sense of global responsibility."


The university's teacher education program is accredited by the Mississippi Department of Education (MDE) and the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) for the preparation of elementary, secondary content area teachers and school service personnel, with the doctoral degree as the highest degree approved. The School of Education also holds membership in the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE).

Other Information

Certification - Graduates from the teacher preparation program of the school meet all degree and course requirements for teaching licensure in Mississippi. Additionally, passing scores on the Praxis II: Principles of Learning and Teaching, and Praxis II: Specialty Area Test are required. Students interested in applying for licensure in other states are encouraged to (a) meet Mississippi standards and apply for reciprocity in another state and/or (b) research the specific state guidelines and follow accordingly while also meeting education degree requirements. Students are responsible for filing their licensure applications, including all required materials, directly to the state licensure office in which they are applying.

Field Experience/Clinical Practice - Education students participate in a progression of field experiences and clinical practice throughout the program designed to provide a varied and diverse scope of experience. Each teacher education student is required to earn a minimum of 9 semester hours in supervised student teaching.

The policies and regulations contained in this online University of Mississippi Catalog are in effect for the current or selected semester. The catalog is not a contract, but rather a guide for the convenience of students. The University of Mississippi reserves the right to 1) change or withdraw courses; 2) change the fees, rules, and schedules for admission, registration, instruction, and graduation; and 3) change other regulations affecting the student body at any time. Implicit in each student’s enrollment with the university is an agreement to comply with university rules and regulations, which the university may modify to exercise properly its educational responsibility.