



About the University of Mississippi

Overview <u>Mission</u> <u>Administration</u> <u>Board</u> <u>Accreditation</u> <u>EEO</u> <u>History</u> <u>Buildings</u>

Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning

By CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT, the government of the University of Mississippi and of the other institutions of higher learning of the state of Mississippi is vested in a Board of Trustees appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. After January 1, 2004, as vacancies occur, the 12-member Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning shall be appointed from each of the three Mississippi Supreme Court districts, until there are four members from each Supreme Court district. The terms are staggered so that all members appointed after 2012 will have a term of nine years. The Board of Trustees selects one of its members as president of the board and appoints the chancellor as executive head of the university. The board maintains offices at 3825 Ridgewood Road, Jackson, MS 39205.

- Commissioner
- Dr. Alfred Rankins, Jr.

Board Members

- Hal Parker, President
- Dr. Ford Dye, Vice President
- Dr. Steven Cunningham
- Tom Duff
- Shane Hooper
- Ann H. Lamar
- Jeanne Carter Luckey
- Bruce Martin
- Dr. Alfred E. McNair Jr.
- Chip Morgan
- Gee Ogletree
- Dr. J. Walt Starr

