Skip UM navigation Skip to Main Navigation


The Schools of Nursing and Pharmacy operate on both the Oxford and Jackson campuses. The Schools of Dentistry, Health Related Professionals and Medicine, and the Health Sciences Graduate School, are based in Jackson only. (Additional healthcare programs are available through the School of Applied Sciences on the Oxford campus.) Other than these exceptions, the schools above are on the Oxford campus.

School of Engineering



227 Brevard Hall
University, MS 38677


The School of Engineering offers Bachelor of Science (B.S.) degrees in biomedical engineering, chemical engineering, civil engineering, computer engineering, computer science, electrical engineering, general engineering, geology, geological engineering and mechanical engineering. The school also offers a Bachelor of Engineering (B.E.) degree.


History - Founded in 1900, the School of Engineering is the third oldest school of the university and is the oldest engineering school in the state. Instruction in engineering dates from 1854 when a Department of Engineering was established by the Board of Trustees to complement a strong program in the natural sciences.

Vision Statement - The School will positively transform lives and communities through innovative engineering education and discovery.

Mission Statement - The School capitalizes on its engineering science tradition, a low student to faculty ratio, and a rich liberal arts environment to give future professionals deep technical abilities, the capacity to adapt to the rapid changes in engineering, and the interdisciplinary background to help them excel in a competitive world.

Statement of Goals - The School aims to:


The following undergraduate engineering programs are accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET, Bachelor of Science in Chemical Engineering, Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering, Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering, Bachelor of Science in Geological Engineering, and Bachelor of Science in Mechanical Engineering. The Bachelor of Science in Computer Science (BSCS) program of the Department of Computer and Information Science is accredited as a Computer Science program by the Computing Accreditation Commission (CAC) of ABET

Other Information

Cooperative education, or co-op, provides students with the opportunity to gain hands-on experience by taking a semester or two to work with seasoned engineers and other professionals. Engineering students typically begin a co-op following their sophomore or junior year when they have completed enough major-specific courses to contribute in a professional setting.

The policies and regulations contained in this online University of Mississippi Catalog are in effect for the current or selected semester. The catalog is not a contract, but rather a guide for the convenience of students. The University of Mississippi reserves the right to 1) change or withdraw courses; 2) change the fees, rules, and schedules for admission, registration, instruction, and graduation; and 3) change other regulations affecting the student body at any time. Implicit in each student’s enrollment with the university is an agreement to comply with university rules and regulations, which the university may modify to exercise properly its educational responsibility.