

Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College

Overview

Academics & Admissions

Courses

Faculty

Awards

Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards Howell Family Outstanding Teacher of the Year

Renamed in 2017, this yearly award recognizes excellence in instruction, care and inspiration of students. CLA faculty members of professorial rank (assistant to full professor) are eligible. Past recipients, temporary and visiting faculty are ineligible.

- Timothy Paul Yenter Associate Dean for Capstone and Associate Professor of Philosophy (2022)
- Vivian Ibrahim-Dinius Associate Professor of History and Director of the Office of National Scholarship Advisement (2020)

College of Liberal Arts - Outstanding Teacher of the Year

In 1985, the College of Liberal Arts began this award to recognize faculty members who demonstrate excellence of class instruction, intellectual stimulation of students, and concern for students welfare.

- Gerard J Buskes Professor Emeritus of Mathematics (2016)
- Ethel Young Scurlock Dean of the Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College and Associate Professor of English and African American Studies (2003)
- **Douglass Sullivan-Gonzalez** Professor of History (2001)

Award for Excellence in Promoting Inclusiveness in Graduate Education

- Gerard J Buskes Professor Emeritus of Mathematics (2011)
- John S Williamson Professor Emeritus of Medical Chemistry & Research Professor Emeritus in the Research Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Director of Research Development and Associate Director of Projects (2008)

Staff Council Award - EEO3

• Penny D Leeton - Assistant to the Dean - Administrative Support (2010)

Faculty Achievement Award

The Faculty Achievement Award is given annually to recognize unusual effort in the classroom, involvement with students, and active scholarship.

• John W Winkle - Professor Emeritus of Political Science and Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College (1992)

Frist Service Award

- Ryan Lowery Upshaw ASSISTANT DEAN FOR STUDENT SERVICES (2018)
- John W Winkle Professor Emeritus of Political Science and Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College (2006)
- VAUGHN L GRISHAM PROFESSOR EMERITUS AND DIRECTOR OF THE GOEORGE MCLEAN CENTER FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT (1998)
- VIRGINIA MARGARET PATTERSON ADMINISTRATIVE COORDINATOR II (1997)

College of Liberal Arts - Cora Lee Graham Outstanding Teaching of Freshmen

In 1984, Cora Lee Graham of Union City, Tennessee, established an endowment and directed that the proceeds from her gift be used to help retain your better professors who teach the freshman classes in the College of Liberal Arts.

- Jason E Ritchie Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry and Stefani-Miller Chair for Teaching Excellence (2007)
- Gerard J Buskes Professor Emeritus of Mathematics (1992)

Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award

The Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the University is selected from nominations submitted by students, alumni and faculty.

- Jason E Ritchie Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry and Stefani-Miller Chair for Teaching Excellence (2023)
- Ethel Young Scurlock Dean of the Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College and Associate Professor of English and African American Studies (2011)
- John W Winkle Professor Emeritus of Political Science and Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College (1980)
- VAUGHN L GRISHAM PROFESSOR EMERITUS AND DIRECTOR OF THE GOEORGE MCLEAN CENTER FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT (1978)

School of Pharmacy Faculty Research Award

• John S Williamson - Professor Emeritus of Medical Chemistry & Research Professor Emeritus in the Research Institute of Pharmaceutica

The University of Mississippi is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates and baccalaureate, master's, specialist, and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, call 404-679-4500, or visit online at www.sacscoc.org for questions about the accreditation.





Sciences, Director of Research Development and Associate Director of Projects (2006)

School of Pharmacy Faculty Service Award

• John S Williamson - Professor Emeritus of Medical Chemistry & Research Professor Emeritus in the Research Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Director of Research Development and Associate Director of Projects (1998)

University of Mississippi Humanities Teacher of the Year

The College of Liberal Arts and the Mississippi Humanities Council co-sponsor this award to highlight an outstanding humanities faculty member each fall during Arts and Humanities Month in October.

• Ethel Young Scurlock - Dean of the Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College and Associate Professor of English and African American Studies (2003)

The University of Mississippi is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates and baccalaureate, master's, specialist, and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, call 404-679-4500, or visit online at www.sacscoc.org for questions about the accreditation.

