

School of Law

Overview Academics & Admissions

Programs

Courses

Faculty

<u>Awards</u>

Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards School of Applied Sciences - Thomas A. Crowe Award

• William J Derrick - Professor of the Practice of Law (2006)

Distinguished Research and Creative Achievement Award

• Ronald J Rychlak - Distinguished Professor of Law and Jamie L. Whitten Chair of Law and Government (2019)

The Distinguished Professor Award

The Award acknowledges outstanding faculty by conferring the honorific title of Distinguished Professor. Appointment as a Distinguished Professor is reserved for only the very best faculty members in recognition of sustained excellence.

• Ronald J Rychlak - Distinguished Professor of Law and Jamie L. Whitten Chair of Law and Government (2020)

Staff Council Award - EEO5

• POINDEXTER E BARNES - NETWORK ADMINISTRATOR (1996)

Faculty Achievement Award

The Faculty Achievement Award is given annually to recognize unusual effort in the classroom, involvement with students, and active scholarship.

- William W Berry Professor of Law, Associate Dean of Research, and Frank Montague Jr. Professorship of Legal Studies (2022)
- Michael H Hoffheimer Professor Emeritus of Law and Jamie L Whitten Chair of Law and Government (2019)

Frist Service Award

• THOMAS RAY MASON - DIRECTOR OF TRIAL ADVOCACY AND INTERN PROGRAM AND PROFESSOR OF LAW (2004)

Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award

The Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the University is selected from nominations submitted by students, alumni and faculty.

- John M Czarnetzky Professor Emeritus of Law and Mitchell, McNutt and Sams Distinguished Lecturer (2016)
- William W Berry Professor of Law, Associate Dean of Research, and Frank Montague Jr. Professorship of Legal Studies (2013)
- **<u>ROBERT A WEEMS</u>** Professor Emeritus of Law (1994)
- GUTHRIE T ABBOTT PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (1986)

School of Law Outstanding Teacher of the Year

- Ira Richard Gershon Professor of Law Instruction (2023)
- Matthew Russell Hall Associate Professor of Law and Jesse D Puckett Jr Lecturer (2022)
- Matthew Russell Hall Associate Professor of Law and Jesse D Puckett Jr Lecturer (2021)
- John M Czarnetzky Professor Emeritus of Law and Mitchell, McNutt and Sams Distinguished Lecturer (2020)
- Antonia L Eliason Senior Associate Dean and Associate Professor of Law (2019)
- <u>Donna Raye Davis</u> Associate Professor Emerita of Law (2018)
- Larry J Pittman Professor of Law and Leonard B. Melvin Lecturer in Law (2017)
- John M Czarnetzky Professor Emeritus of Law and Mitchell, McNutt and Sams Distinguished Lecturer (2016)
- <u>Samuel M Davis</u> Dean Emeritus and Jamie L Whitten Chair Emeritus Law and Government (2015)
- Mercer E Bullard Assistant Professor of Finance (2014)
- RICHARD L BARNES PROFESSOR OF LAW (2013)
- JOHN R BRADLEY PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (2013)
- JACK W NOWLIN SENIOR ASSOCIATE DEAN, PROFESSOR OF LAW AND JESSIE D.PUCKETT JR. LECTURER (2012)
- William J Derrick Professor of the Practice of Law (2011)
- Deborah H Bell Professor Emerita of Law (2010)
- JACK W NOWLIN SENIOR ASSOCIATE DEAN, PROFESSOR OF LAW AND JESSIE D.PUCKETT JR. LECTURER (2006)
- John M Czarnetzky Professor Emeritus of Law and Mitchell, McNutt and Sams Distinguished Lecturer (2005)

The University of Mississippi is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates and baccalaureate, master's, specialist, and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, call 404-679-4500, or visit online at www.sacscoc.org for questions about the accreditation.





- ROBERT A WEEMS Professor Emeritus of Law (2003)
- ROBERT A WEEMS Professor Emeritus of Law (2002)
- GUTHRIE T ABBOTT PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (2001)
- GEORGE C COCHRAN PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (2000)
- John M Czarnetzky Professor Emeritus of Law and Mitchell, McNutt and Sams Distinguished Lecturer (1999)
- **<u>ROBERT A WEEMS</u>** Professor Emeritus of Law (1999)
- **ROBERT A WEEMS** Professor Emeritus of Law (1998)
- John M Czarnetzky Professor Emeritus of Law and Mitchell, McNutt and Sams Distinguished Lecturer (1997)
- **<u>GUTHRIE T ABBOTT</u>** PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (1992)
- **ROBERT A WEEMS** Professor Emeritus of Law (1989)
- GEORGE C COCHRAN PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (1985)
- **<u>GUTHRIE T ABBOTT</u>** PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (1984)
- Deborah H Bell Professor Emerita of Law (1983)
- Karen O Green Professor Emerita of Law (1982)
- **ROBERT A WEEMS** Professor Emeritus of Law (1980)
- GUTHRIE T ABBOTT PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (1976)
- **<u>GUTHRIE T ABBOTT</u>** PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF LAW (1974)

School of Law Ben Hardy Faculty Service Award

The Ben A. Hardy Faculty Excellence Award recognizes outstanding teaching, scholarship and service by a faculty member of the School of Law. The recipient is selected annually by the Dean and the President of the Law School Student Body.

- Lisa Shaw Roy Professor of Law and Jesse D. Puckett Jr Lecturer (2023)
- Yvette Theresa Butler Assistant Professor of Law (2022)
- John M Czarnetzky Professor Emeritus of Law and Mitchell, McNutt and Sams Distinguished Lecturer (2021)
- Michael H Hoffheimer Professor Emeritus of Law and Jamie L Whitten Chair of Law and Government (2020)
- Phillip Wayne Broadhead Clinical Professor Emeritus and Director Emeritus of Criminal Appeals (2019)
- Matthew Russell Hall Associate Professor of Law and Jesse D Puckett Jr Lecturer (2018)
- Ronald J Rychlak Distinguished Professor of Law and Jamie L. Whitten Chair of Law and Government (2017)
- Michele Alexandre ASSOCIATE DEAN FOR FACULTY DEVELOPMENT AND INTELLECTUAL LIFE, PROFESSOR OF LAW, AND LEONARD B MELVIN LECTURER IN LAW (2016)
- **Donna Raye Davis** Associate Professor Emerita of Law (2015)
- Karen O Green Professor Emerita of Law (2014)
- **<u>E Farish Percy</u>** Professor of Law and Jamie L. Whitten Chair of Law and Government (2013)

Joan K. Murphy Outstanding Faculty Award

The Joan K. Murphy Outstanding Staff Award is selected annually by the Student Bar Association (SBA) Senate and presented to a member of the law school staff in recognition of outstanding contribution to the faculty, staff, and student body.

- Cecil Jarrell Dowden Information Technology Coordinator (2023)
- Rose Marie Maten Program Coordinator (2022)
- Cecil Jarrell Dowden Information Technology Coordinator (2021)

