

Teacher Education

<u>Overview</u>

Academics & Admissions

Programs

<u>Courses</u>

Faculty

<u>Awards</u>

Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards Excellence in Advising Award - Office of the Provost

To recognize outstanding academic advising by a faculty member and to demonstrate the University of Mississippi's commitment to excellent advising.

• Crystal Armstrong Dunn - Coordinator of Advising, Recruitment and Retention (2014)

Staff Council Award - EEO1

• Mary Ann Connell - University Attorney Emerita and Instrutor in Business Administration and Adjunct Professor in Leadership and Counselor Education (1995)

Outstanding Staff Award

A staff member of the School of Engineering who has demonstrated exemplary service, leadership, and commitment.

• Bethany Ferguson LaValley - Coordinator of Professional Development-CMSE (2010)

Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award

The Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the University is selected from nominations submitted by students, alumni and faculty.

• Ann Elizabeth Monroe - Assistant Dean, Director of Assessment, and Associate Professor of Teacher Education (2018)

School of Education Outstanding Service Award

The Exemplary Service Award is presented to a faculty or staff member for exceptional service to the profession, the local or University community, region, state, or national and international scholarly communities during the academic year.

- Sara Ann Grimes Platt Clinical Assistant Professor in Special Education (2020)
- Nichelle Catrice Robinson Associate Professor of Teacher Education and School of Education Diversity Officer (2019)
- Denise A Soares Assistant Dean, Director of Graduate Studies, and Associate Professor of Special Education (2018)
- Matthew Blake Adams Program Manager (2017)
- <u>Stacy Ryan Niemeyer</u> Assistant Provost for Regional Campuses and Associate Professor of Leadership and Counselor Education (2016)
- <u>Virginia J Moore</u> Associate Professor of Elementary Education (2015)
- Ann Elizabeth Monroe Assistant Dean, Director of Assessment, and Associate Professor of Teacher Education (2012)

School of Education Outstanding Teacher of the Year

- Karen V Davidson Smith Clinical Associate Professor of Teacher Education; School of Education Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (2021)
- Diane Lawrence Lowry Clinical Associate Professor of Special Education (2020)
- Alicia Cooper Stapp Associate Professor of Health and Physical Education (2018)
- Joel C Amidon Associate Professor of Secondary Education (2017)
- Jerilou J Moore Professor Emeritus of Elementary Education (2016)
- Allan Edward Bellman Professor of Mathematics Education (2014)
- OTIS WESTBROOK PICKETT ADJUNCT PROFESSOR (2013)
- Joel C Amidon Associate Professor of Secondary Education (2012)
- Ann Elizabeth Monroe Assistant Dean, Director of Assessment, and Associate Professor of Teacher Education (2010)
- Nichelle Catrice Robinson Associate Professor of Teacher Education and School of Education Diversity Officer (2009)
- Jerilou J Moore Professor Emeritus of Elementary Education (2007)
- <u>Angela Sykes Rutherford</u> Professor of Teacher Education and Director of the Center for Excellence in Literacy Instruction (2006)
- LUCINDA M LEIGH ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF ELEMENTARY EDUCATION (2005)
- SARAH E BLACKWELL ADJUNCT INSTRUCTOR IN TEACHER EDUCATION (2003)
- Sidney T Rowland Associate Professor Emerita of Teacher Education (2001)
- BOBBIE SMOTHERS JONES ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF CURRICULUM AND INSTRUCTION (2000)
- MARTHA S CHAMBLESS Professor Emerita of Elementary Education (1999)
- PEGGY EMERSON Chair Emerita and Professor Emerita of Curriculum (1998)

The University of Mississippi is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates and baccalaureate, master's, specialist and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, call 404-679-4500, or visit online at www.sacscoc.org for questions about the accreditation.





School of Education Researcher of the Year

- Joel C Amidon Associate Professor of Secondary Education (2020)
- Burhanettin Keskin Professor of Early Childhood Education (2018)
- Kerry P Holmes Professor Emerita of Elementary Education (2017)
- Denise A Soares Assistant Dean, Director of Graduate Studies, and Associate Professor of Special Education (2016)
- Joel C Amidon Associate Professor of Secondary Education (2015)
- Allan Edward Beliman Professor of Mathematics Education (2014)
- ANGELA TILL BARLOW ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF CURRICULUM AND INSTRUCTION (2011)
- BARBARA J DOUGHERTY PROFESSOR OF CURRICULUM AND INSTRUCTION (2009)
- DEBORAH A CHESSIN Professor Emerita of Curriculum and Instruction (2005)
- Kerry P Holmes Professor Emerita of Elementary Education (2004)
- <u>William Joseph Sumrall</u> Professor of Elementary Education (2002)
- David Rock Dean of the School of Education and Professor of Curriculum & Instruction (2001)
- JEAN M SHAW Professor Emerita of Curriculum and Instruction (2000)

The University of Mississippi is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates and baccalaureate, master's, specialist and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, call 404-679-4500, or visit online at www.sacscoc.org for guestions about the accreditation.

