211 Longstreet Hall, University, MS 38677 http://aas.olemiss.edu/

## African American Studies Program

Overview Programs Minors Courses Faculty

**Awards** 

# Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards Dr. Mike L. Edmonds New Scholar Award

This award will be presented annually to untenured, tenure- track professorial rank faculty members in the College who have demonstrated exemplary performance in research, scholarship, and/or creative achievement.

 Derrick Avin Harriell - Director of African American Studies, Otillie Schillig Associate Professor of English, African American Studies, and Creative Writing (2017)

### College of Liberal Arts - Outstanding Teacher of the Year

In 1985, the College of Liberal Arts began this award to recognize faculty members who demonstrate excellence of class instruction, intellectual stimulation of students, and concern for students welfare.

• Ethel Young Scurlock - Dean of the Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College and Associate Professor of English and African American Studies (2003)

#### Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award

The Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the University is selected from nominations submitted by students, alumni and faculty.

• Ethel Young Scurlock - Dean of the Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College and Associate Professor of English and African American Studies (2011)

#### University of Mississippi Humanities Teacher of the Year

The College of Liberal Arts and the Mississippi Humanities Council co-sponsor this award to highlight an outstanding humanities faculty member each fall during Arts and Humanities Month in October.

• Ethel Young Scurlock - Dean of the Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College and Associate Professor of English and African American Studies (2003)

