

Teacher Education

<u>Overview</u>

Academics & Admissions

Programs

Courses

Faculty

Awards

Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards Excellence in Advising Award - Office of the Provost

To recognize outstanding academic advising by a faculty member and to demonstrate the University of Mississippi's commitment to excellent advising.

• Crystal Armstrong Dunn - Coordinator of Advising, Recruitment and Retention (2014)

Staff Council Award - EEO1

• Mary Ann Connell - Adjunct Professor Emeritus of Leadership & Counselor Education (1995)

Outstanding Staff Award

A staff member of the School of Engineering who has demonstrated exemplary service, leadership, and commitment.

• Bethany Ferguson LaValley - Coordinator of Professional Development-CMSE (2010)

Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award

The Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the University is selected from nominations submitted by students, alumni and faculty.

• Ann Elizabeth Monroe - Associate Dean and Professor of Teacher Education (2018)

School of Education Outstanding Service Award

The Exemplary Service Award is presented to a faculty or staff member for exceptional service to the profession, the local or University community, region, state, or national and international scholarly communities during the academic year.

- Laura F Prior Associate Professor of Teacher Education (2022)
- Sara Ann Grimes Platt Assistant Dean and Director of Assessment and Accreditation, Assistant Professor of Special Education (2020)
- Nichelle Catrice Robinson Associate Professor of Teacher Education and School of Education Diversity Officer (2019)
- Denise A Soares Assistant Dean, Director of Graduate Studies, Professor of Special Education, and Interim Director of the National Center for School-University Partnerships (2018)
- Matthew Blake Adams Program Manager (2017)
- Stacy Ryan Niemeyer Assistant Provost for Regional Campuses and Associate Professor of Leadership and Counselor Education (2016)
- Virginia J Moore Associate Professor Emeritus of Elementary Education (2015)
- Ann Elizabeth Monroe Associate Dean and Professor of Teacher Education (2012)

School of Education Outstanding Teacher of the Year

- Mary Katherine Naron Lecturer in Teacher Education (2022)
- Karen V Davidson Smith Clinical Associate Professor of Teacher Education; School of Education Director of Educational Opportunity and Access (2021)
- Diane Lawrence Lowry Clinical Associate Professor of Special Education (2020)
- Alicia Cooper Stapp Associate Professor of Health and Physical Education (2018)
- Joel C Amidon Professor of Teacher Education (2017)
- Jerilou J Moore Professor Emeritus of Elementary Education (2016)
- Allan Edward Bellman Professor of Mathematics Education (2014)
- OTIS WESTBROOK PICKETT ADJUNCT PROFESSOR (2013)
- Joel C Amidon Professor of Teacher Education (2012)
- Ann Elizabeth Monroe Associate Dean and Professor of Teacher Education (2010)
- Nichelle Catrice Robinson Associate Professor of Teacher Education and School of Education Diversity Officer (2009)
- <u>Jerilou J Moore</u> Professor Emeritus of Elementary Education (2007)
- Angela Sykes Rutherford Professor of Teacher Education and Director of the Center for Excellence in Literacy Instruction (2006)
- LUCINDA M LEIGH ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF ELEMENTARY EDUCATION (2005)
- SARAH E BLACKWELL ADJUNCT INSTRUCTOR IN TEACHER EDUCATION (2003)
- Sidney T Rowland Associate Professor Emerita of Teacher Education (2001)
- BOBBIE SMOTHERS JONES ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF CURRICULUM AND INSTRUCTION (2000)



The University of Mississippi is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates and baccalaureate, master's, specialist and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, call 404-679-4500, or visit online at www.sacscoc.org for questions about the accreditation.





http://education.olemiss.edu/dco/teacher_education.html



- MARTHA S CHAMBLESS Professor Emerita of Elementary Education (1999)
- **PEGGY EMERSON** Chair Emerita and Professor Emerita of Curriculum (1998)

School of Education Researcher of the Year

- Kenya Elizabeth Wolff Associate Professor of Early Childhood Education (2022)
- Joel C Amidon Professor of Teacher Education (2020)
- Burhanettin Keskin Professor of Early Childhood Education (2018)
- Kerry P Holmes Professor Emerita of Elementary Education (2017)
- Denise A Soares Assistant Dean, Director of Graduate Studies, Professor of Special Education, and Interim Director of the National Center for School-University Partnerships (2016)
- Joel C Amidon Professor of Teacher Education (2015)
- Allan Edward Bellman Professor of Mathematics Education (2014)
- ANGELA TILL BARLOW ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF CURRICULUM AND INSTRUCTION (2011)
- BARBARA J DOUGHERTY PROFESSOR OF CURRICULUM AND INSTRUCTION (2009)
- **DEBORAH A CHESSIN** Professor Emerita of Curriculum and Instruction (2005)
- Kerry P Holmes Professor Emerita of Elementary Education (2004)
- William Joseph Sumrall Professor of Elementary Education (2002)
- David Rock Dean of the School of Education and Professor of Curriculum & Instruction (2001)
- JEAN M SHAW Professor Emerita of Curriculum and Instruction (2000)

