Barksdale Honors College Bldg, University, MS 38677 http://www.honors.olemiss.edu/

Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College

Overview

Academics & Admissions

Courses

Faculty

Awards

Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards College of Liberal Arts - Outstanding Teacher of the Year In 1985, the College of Liberal Arts began this award to recognize faculty members who demonstrate excellence of class instruction, intellectual stimulation

of students, and concern for students welfare.

- Ethel Young Scurlock ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF ENGLISH AND AFRICAN-AMERICAN STUDIES AND SENIOR FELLOW OF LUCKYDAY RESIDENTIAL COLLEGE (2003)
- Douglass Sullivan-Gonzalez DEAN, SALLY MCDONNELL BARKSDALE HONORS COLLEGE AND ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF HISTORY (2001)

Award for Excellence in Promoting Inclusiveness in Graduate Education

 John S Williamson - PROFESSOR OF MEDICINAL CHEMISTRY AND RESEARCH PROFESSOR IN THE RESEARCH INSTITUTE OF PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES (2008)

Staff Council Award - EEO3

• Penny D Leeton - COORDINATOR OF SALLY MCDONNELL BARKSDALE HONORS COLLEGE (2010)

Faculty Achievement Award

The Faculty Achievement Award is given annually to recognize unusual effort in the classroom, involvement with students, and active scholarship.

• John W Winkle - PROFESSOR OF POLITICAL SCIENCE (1992)

Frist Service Award

- John W Winkle PROFESSOR OF POLITICAL SCIENCE (2006)
- VAUGHN L GRISHAM PROFESSOR EMERITUS AND DIRECTOR OF THE GOEORGE MCLEAN CENTER FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT (1998)
- VIRGINIA MARGARET PATTERSON ADMINISTRATIVE COORDINATOR II (1997)

College of Liberal Arts - Cora Lee Graham Outstanding Teaching of Freshmen

In 1984, Cora Lee Graham of Union City, Tennessee, established an endowment and directed that the proceeds from her gift be used to help retain your better professors who teach the freshman classes in the College of Liberal Arts.

- Jason E Ritchie ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF CHEMISTRY AND BIOCHEMISTRY (2007)
- Gerard J Buskes PROFESSOR OF MATHEMATICS (1992)

Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award

The Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the University is selected from nominations submitted by students, alumni and faculty.

- John W Winkle PROFESSOR OF POLITICAL SCIENCE (1980)
- VAUGHN L GRISHAM PROFESSOR EMERITUS AND DIRECTOR OF THE GOEORGE MCLEAN CENTER FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT (1978)

School of Pharmacy Faculty Research Award

• John S Williamson - PROFESSOR OF MEDICINAL CHEMISTRY AND RESEARCH PROFESSOR IN THE RESEARCH INSTITUTE OF PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES (2006)

School of Pharmacy Faculty Service Award

• John S Williamson - PROFESSOR OF MEDICINAL CHEMISTRY AND RESEARCH PROFESSOR IN THE RESEARCH INSTITUTE OF PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES (1998)

University of Mississippi Humanities Teacher of the Year

The College of Liberal Arts and the Mississippi Humanities Council co-sponsor this award to highlight an outstanding humanities faculty member each fall during Arts and Humanities Month in October.

• Ethel Young Scurlock - ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF ENGLISH AND AFRICAN-AMERICAN STUDIES AND SENIOR FELLOW OF LUCKYDAY RESIDENTIAL COLLEGE (2003)

