

School of Journalism and New Media

Overview

Academics & Admissions

Programs

<u>Minors</u>

Courses

Faculty

Awards

Leadership

• Debora Rae Wenger - Interim Dean of the School of Journalism, Assistant Dean for Partnerships and Innovations, and Professor of Journalism

Contact

114 Farley Hall University, MS 38677 DRWENGER@OLEMISS.EDU http://jnm.olemiss.edu/

History/Mission/Purpose

Founded as the Department of Journalism in 1947, the School of Journalism and New Media was established July 1, 2009. It is dedicated to teaching, equipping, and empowering students for careers in journalism and integrated marketing communications. All degrees in the school require course work in the liberal arts, including natural sciences, social sciences, mathematics, humanities, and fine and performing arts, while permitting some liberty in the selection of courses within these areas. In these courses, a student is introduced to the fundamentals of scholarship in the main branches of knowledge and is provided with an orientation that will help prepare for success in a chosen field. Course work in a student's major, minor, related area or electives (depending upon the type of degree chosen) provides access to advanced instruction and specialized equipment to prepare for responsible leadership in the professional, civic, social, and economic spheres of society and creates a foundation that may enrich character and provide the resources for living a meaningful and useful life.

Accreditation

The school is accredited by the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communication.

The University of Mississippi is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates and baccalaureate, master's, specialist, and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, call 404-679-4500, or visit online at www.sacscoc.org for questions about the accreditation.

