

School of Engineering

Overview

Academics & Admissions

Departments

Programs

Minors

Courses

Faculty

Awards

Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards Frederick A.P. Barnard Distinguished Professorships

Frederick A.P. Barnard Distinguished Professors are recognized for their excellence and innovation in teaching and research.

- <u>James G Vaughan</u> ASSOCIATE DEAN, FAP BARNARD DISTINGUISHED PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING AND INTERIM DIRECTOR OF THE CENTER FOR MANUFACTURING EXCELLENCE (CME) (1998)
- SAM SHU-YI WANG DIRECTOR, NATIONAL CENTER FOR COMPUTATIONAL HYDROSCIENCE AND ENGINEERING AND F.A.P. BARNARD DISTINGUISHED PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (1988)

Distinguished Research and Creative Achievement Award

• <u>SAM SHU-YI WANG</u> - DIRECTOR, NATIONAL CENTER FOR COMPUTATIONAL HYDROSCIENCE AND ENGINEERING AND F.A.P. BARNARD DISTINGUISHED PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (2008)

Staff Council Award - EEO3

• Elizabeth D Stidham - SPONSORED PROGRAMS ACCOUNTANT (2006)

School of Engineering, Junior Faculty Research Award

- <u>Ellen Lackey</u> INTERIM ASSISTANT CHAIR & ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING AND DIRECTOR OF COMPOSITE MATERIALS RESEARCH GROUP TEST FACILITIES (2009)
- Fan Yang ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING (2008)
- Gregory L Easson CHAIR AND ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY AND GEOLOGICAL ENGINEERING (2007)
- Mustafa Muhammad Matalgah ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING (2006)
- GAREY A FOX ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF CIVIL ENGINEERING (2005)
- Robert M Holt ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY (2004)
- Alexander Borisovitch Yakovlev ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING (2003)
- Gregory L Easson CHAIR AND ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY AND GEOLOGICAL ENGINEERING (2002)

Outstanding Staff Award

A staff member of the School of Engineering who has demonstrated exemplary service, leadership, and commitment.

- DOROTHY ANNE LLOYD SENIOR SECRETARY (2009)
- MARTYE F HICKMAN SUPERVISOR, ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING SHOPS (2008)
- BERNICE HEROD SENIOR ADMINISTRATIVE SECRETARY (2007)
- GENE LAMAR WALKER INSTRUMENT TECHNICIAN (2006)
- Cathy A Grace INSTRUCTOR IN GEOLOGY AND GEOLOGICAL ENGINEERING (2005)
- GARY W DENNING SENIOR ELECTRONICS TECHNICIAN (2004)
- GENE LAMAR WALKER INSTRUMENT TECHNICIAN (2003)
- DORIS T VINSON SENIOR SECRETARY (2002)
- R. B. PRIVETT ASSISTANT TO THE DEAN, SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING (2001)

School of Engineering, Senior Faculty Research Award

- Wei-Yin Chen PROFESSOR OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING (2009)
- Prabhakar R Mantena PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (2008)
- <u>SAM SHU-YI WANG</u> DIRECTOR, NATIONAL CENTER FOR COMPUTATIONAL HYDROSCIENCE AND ENGINEERING AND F.A.P. BARNARD DISTINGUISHED PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (2007)
- ATEF Z ELSHERBENI DIRECTOR OF MICRO SYSTEMS LABORATORY, DIRECTOR OF CAD LABORATORY AND PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING (2006)
- AHMED KISHK DIRECTOR OF ANTENNA SYSTEMS LABORATORY AND PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING (2005)
- AJIT SADANA PROFESSOR OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING (2004)
- Wei-Yin Chen PROFESSOR OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING (2003)





- <u>SAM SHU-YI WANG</u> DIRECTOR, NATIONAL CENTER FOR COMPUTATIONAL HYDROSCIENCE AND ENGINEERING AND F.A.P. BARNARD DISTINGUISHED PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (2002)
- AHMED KISHK DIRECTOR OF ANTENNA SYSTEMS LABORATORY AND PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING (2001)

Faculty Achievement Award

The Faculty Achievement Award is given annually to recognize unusual effort in the classroom, involvement with students, and active scholarship.

- John H O'Haver ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING AND DIRECTOR OF CENTER FOR MATHEMATICS AND SCIENCE EDUCATION (2000)
- <u>Ellen Lackey</u> INTERIM ASSISTANT CHAIR & ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING AND DIRECTOR OF COMPOSITE MATERIALS RESEARCH GROUP TEST FACILITIES (1999)
- CHARLES E SMITH Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering (1993)
- Jeffrey A Roux PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (1991)
- James G Vaughan ASSOCIATE DEAN, FAP BARNARD DISTINGUISHED PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING AND INTERIM DIRECTOR OF THE CENTER FOR MANUFACTURING EXCELLENCE (CME) (1989)

Frist Service Award

- TERRY L PANHORST ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY AND GEOLOGICAL ENGINEERING (2002)
- PAMELA B LAWHEAD ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF COMPUTER & INFORMATION SCIENCE AND DIRECTOR OF THE INSTITUTE FOR ADVANCED EDUCATION IN GEOSPATIAL SCIENCES (1995)

Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award

The Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the University is selected from nominations submitted by students, alumni and faculty.

• <u>James G Vaughan</u> - ASSOCIATE DEAN, FAP BARNARD DISTINGUISHED PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING AND INTERIM DIRECTOR OF THE CENTER FOR MANUFACTURING EXCELLENCE (CME) (1991)

School of Engineering, Faculty Service Award

- Elizabeth Kaye Ervin ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF CIVIL ENGINEERING (2009)
- Dawn E Wilkins ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SCIENCE (2008)
- Prabhakar R Mantena PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (2007)
- Tyrus A McCarty ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING AND ADMINISTRATOR FOR SPECIAL AFFAIRS, SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING (2006)
- ATEF Z ELSHERBENI DIRECTOR OF MICRO SYSTEMS LABORATORY, DIRECTOR OF CAD LABORATORY AND PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING (2005)
- Alexander H D Cheng CHAIR AND PROFESSOR OF CIVIL ENGINEERING (2004)
- <u>PAMELA B LAWHEAD</u> ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF COMPUTER & INFORMATION SCIENCE AND DIRECTOR OF THE INSTITUTE FOR ADVANCED EDUCATION IN GEOSPATIAL SCIENCES (2003)
- ALLEN W GLISSON CHAIR AND PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING (2002)
- Waheed Uddin PROFESSOR OF CIVIL ENGINEERING AND DIRECTOR OF THE CENTER FOR ADVANCED INFRASTRUCTURE TECHNOLOGY (2001)

School of Engineering, Faculty Teaching Award

- Chung Rak Song ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF CIVIL ENGINEERING (2009)
- Peter C Sukanek PROFESSOR OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING (2008)
- <u>Ellen Lackey</u> INTERIM ASSISTANT CHAIR & ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING AND DIRECTOR OF COMPOSITE MATERIALS RESEARCH GROUP TEST FACILITIES (2007)
- Wei-Yin Chen PROFESSOR OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING (2006)
- Jeffrey A Roux PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (2004)

School of Engineering Outstanding Teacher of the Year

- AHMED KISHK DIRECTOR OF ANTENNA SYSTEMS LABORATORY AND PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING (2009)
- <u>James G Vaughan</u> ASSOCIATE DEAN, FAP BARNARD DISTINGUISHED PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING AND INTERIM DIRECTOR OF THE CENTER FOR MANUFACTURING EXCELLENCE (CME) (2008)
- Alexander H D Cheng CHAIR AND PROFESSOR OF CIVIL ENGINEERING (2007)
- Ahmed Hajmohammad-Khalil Al-Ostaz ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF CIVIL ENGINEERING (2006)
- Paul Scovazzo ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING (2005)
- ALLEN W GLISSON CHAIR AND PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING (2004)
- <u>Ellen Lackey</u> INTERIM ASSISTANT CHAIR & ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING AND DIRECTOR OF COMPOSITE MATERIALS RESEARCH GROUP TEST FACILITIES (2003)
- ATEF Z ELSHERBENI DIRECTOR OF MICRO SYSTEMS LABORATORY, DIRECTOR OF CAD LABORATORY AND PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING (2002)
- John H O'Haver ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING AND DIRECTOR OF CENTER FOR MATHEMATICS AND SCIENCE







EDUCATION (2001)

- Jeffrey A Roux PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (1999)
- AHMED KISHK DIRECTOR OF ANTENNA SYSTEMS LABORATORY AND PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING (1998)
- <u>SAM SHU-YI WANG</u> DIRECTOR, NATIONAL CENTER FOR COMPUTATIONAL HYDROSCIENCE AND ENGINEERING AND F.A.P. BARNARD DISTINGUISHED PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (1985)
- <u>SAM SHU-YI WANG</u> DIRECTOR, NATIONAL CENTER FOR COMPUTATIONAL HYDROSCIENCE AND ENGINEERING AND F.A.P. BARNARD DISTINGUISHED PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (1977)

