

Psychology

Overview

Academics & Admissions

Programs

<u>Minors</u>

Courses

Faculty

Awards

Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards College of Liberal Arts - Instructor of the Year

The award was created in 2011. They are recognized during the commencement ceremony, have their names added to a plaque, and receive \$1,000. Eligibility is limited to instructors, lecturers, senior lecturers, and instructional assistant professors.

- Mervin R Matthew Instructional Associate Professor of Psychology (2021)
- Carey Bernini Dowling Instructional Professor of Psychology (2017)

Dr. Mike L. Edmonds New Scholar Award

This award will be presented annually to untenured, tenure- track professorial rank faculty members in the College who have demonstrated exemplary performance in research, scholarship, and/or creative achievement.

- Carrie Smith Associate Professor of Psychology (2022)
- Laura Justeen Dixon Associate Professor of Psychology (2021)

Liberal Arts-RSRCH, Scholarship, & Creative Achievement Award in the Humanities

This award will be presented annually to tenured faculty members in the College in recognition of sustained exemplary performance in research, scholarship, and/or creative achievement at the national/international level.

• Todd A Smitherman - Professor of Psychology and Director of Clinical Training (2018)

Award for Excellence in Promoting Inclusiveness in Graduate Education

• Alan M Gross - Professor Emeritus of Psychology (2007)

The Distinguished Professor Award

The Award acknowledges outstanding faculty by conferring the honorific title of Distinguished Professor. Appointment as a Distinguished Professor is reserved for only the very best faculty members in recognition of sustained excellence.

• Alan M Gross - Professor Emeritus of Psychology (2021)

Excellence in Advising Award - Office of the Provost

To recognize outstanding academic advising by a faculty member and to demonstrate the University of Mississippi's commitment to excellent advising.

• John N Young - Professor of Psychology (2015)

Faculty Achievement Award

The Faculty Achievement Award is given annually to recognize unusual effort in the classroom, involvement with students, and active scholarship.

 Kenneth J Sufka - Distinguished Professor of Psychology and Pharmacology, Research Professor in the Research Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Director of the Stamps Impact Prize (2005)

Frist Service Award

- Stefan E Schulenberg Professor of Psychology, Director of Interdisciplinary Minor in Disaster Sciences and Director of the Clinical- Disaster Research Center (2020)
- BILLY A BARRIOS Staff Psychologist and Associate Professor of Psychology (2007)
- Kenneth J Sufka Distinguished Professor of Psychology and Pharmacology, Research Professor in the Research Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Director of the Stamps Impact Prize (2006)

Award for Excellence in Graduate Teaching and Mentoring

Criteria: impact on graduate students, excellence in supervision of student research or professional practice, excellence in graduate classroom instruction, and other contributions to improved instruction, including influence on the graduate curriculum.

• <u>Todd A Smitherman</u> - Professor of Psychology and Director of Clinical Training (2022)





• Alan M Gross - Professor Emeritus of Psychology (2013)

Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award

The Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the University is selected from nominations submitted by students, alumni and faculty.

- Matthew B Reysen Associate Professor of Psychology (2020)
- Kelly Gene Wilson Professor Emeritus of Psychology (2010)
- Kenneth J Sufka Distinguished Professor of Psychology and Pharmacology, Research Professor in the Research Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Director of the Stamps Impact Prize (1996)
- BILLY A BARRIOS Staff Psychologist and Associate Professor of Psychology (1995)

Distinguished Faculty Fellows (Liberal Arts)

In 2002, the College of Liberal Arts began the Distinguished Faculty Fellowship Program to reward and support senior faculty members who have distinguished records of research, teaching, and service.

• Alan M Gross - Professor Emeritus of Psychology (2003)

Sanford and Susan Thomas Senior Professor Research Award in Social Sciences

Sanford & Susan Thomas Award in the Social Sciences is given annually to outstanding tenured UM faculty members in recognition of sustained exemplary work in research at the national/international level.

• Stephanie Elisabeth Miller - Associate Professor of Psychology and Director of Experimental Graduate Program (2021)

WOW! Faculty Fellows Award

The WOW! Fellow high lights the innovation and sound instructional practices of online instructors at UM and affords the opportunity to learn from peer instruction and conversation.

• Carey Bernini Dowling - Instructional Professor of Psychology (2022)

