



Arch Dalrymple III Department of History

Overview

Academics & Admissions

Programs

Minors

Courses

Faculty

Awards

Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards Frederick A.P. Barnard Distinguished Professorships

Frederick A.P. Barnard Distinguished Professors are recognized for their excellence and innovation in teaching and research.

• WINTHROP D JORDAN - WILLIAM F WINTER PROFESSOR OF HISTORY AND PROFESSOR OF AFRICAN AMERICAN STUDIES (1998)

College of Liberal Arts - Outstanding Teacher of the Year

In 1985, the College of Liberal Arts began this award to recognize faculty members who demonstrate excellence of class instruction, intellectual stimulation of students, and concern for students welfare.

- John R Neff ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF HISTORY (2005)
- Douglass Sullivan-Gonzalez DEAN, SALLY M-B HONORS COLLEGE & ASSOC PROFESSOR OF HISTORY (2001)
- SHEILA SKEMP PROFESSOR OF HISTORY (1985)

Award for Excellence in Promoting Inclusiveness in Graduate Education

• Joseph P Ward - CHAIR AND ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF HISTORY (2006)

College of Liberal Arts - Cora Lee Graham Outstanding Teaching of Freshmen

In 1984, Cora Lee Graham of Union City, Tennessee, established an endowment and directed that the proceeds from her gift be used to help retain your better professors who teach the freshman classes in the College of Liberal Arts.

- Cornelis Gispen EXECUTIVE DIR OF THE CROFT INSTITUTE & PROFESSOR OF HISTORY (1994)
- Jeffrey R Watt PROFESSOR OF HISTORY (1991)

University of Mississippi Humanities Teacher of the Year

The College of Liberal Arts and the Mississippi Humanities Council co-sponsor this award to highlight an outstanding humanities faculty member each fall during Arts and Humanities Month in October.

- Jeffrey R Watt PROFESSOR OF HISTORY (2007)
- WINTHROP D JORDAN WILLIAM F WINTER PROFESSOR OF HISTORY AND PROFESSOR OF AFRICAN AMERICAN STUDIES (1998)
- CHARLES R WILSON COOK CHAIR OF HISTORY AND PROFESSOR OF SOUTHERN STUDIES (1997)

