

University Programs

Overview

Departments

Programs

Minors

Courses

Faculty

Awards

Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards Frederick A.P. Barnard Distinguished Professorships

Frederick A.P. Barnard Distinguished Professors are recognized for their excellence and innovation in teaching and research.

• James G Vaughan - Director Emeritus of the Haley Barbour Center for Manufacturing Excellence: F.A.P. Barnard Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering: Associate Dean Emeritus of the School of Engineering (1998)

Howell Family Outstanding Teacher of the Year
Renamed in 2017, this yearly award recognizes excellence in instruction, care and inspiration of students. CLA faculty members of professorial rank (assistant to full professor) are eligible. Past recipients, temporary and visiting faculty are ineligible.

- Timothy Paul Yenter Associate Dean for Capstone and Associate Professor of Philosophy (2022)
- Vivian Ibrahim-Dinius Associate Professor of History and Director of the Office of National Scholarship Advisement (2020)

College of Liberal Arts - Outstanding Teacher of the Year

In 1985, the College of Liberal Arts began this award to recognize faculty members who demonstrate excellence of class instruction, intellectual stimulation of students, and concern for students welfare.

- Gerard J Buskes Professor Emeritus of Mathematics (2016)
- Ethel Young Scurlock Dean of the Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College and Associate Professor of English and African American Studies (2003)
- Douglass Sullivan-Gonzalez Professor of History (2001)

Award for Excellence in Promoting Inclusiveness in Graduate Education

- Gerard J Buskes Professor Emeritus of Mathematics (2011)
- MICHAEL W JOHANSSON DIRECTOR OF INTERNATIONAL PROGRAMS (2008)
- John S Williamson Professor Emeritus of Medical Chemistry & Research Professor Emeritus in the Research Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Director of Research Development and Associate Director of Projects (2008)

Excellence in Advising Award - Office of the Provost

To recognize outstanding academic advising by a faculty member and to demonstrate the University of Mississippi's commitment to excellent advising.

• Christie Currie Rogers - Academic Advisor II (2021)

Staff Council Award - Overall

- Brenda P Brannan Executive Assistant (2002)
- Bonita P Brown PROJECT COORDINATOR (1990)

Staff Council Award - EEO1

• Anna Thomson McElroy - Senior International Officer and Director of Study Abroad (2021)

Staff Council Award - EEO3

- Penny D Leeton Assistant to the Dean Administrative Support (2010)
- MAX R MILLER ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR OF PROJECTS (1999)

Staff Council Award - EEO4

- Brenda P Brannan Executive Assistant (1995)
- Bonita P Brown PROJECT COORDINATOR (1990)

Staff Council Award - EEO5

• Lee H Dean - Information Technology Specialist (2003)

School of Engineering, Junior Faculty Research Award

• Ellen Lackey - Emerita Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Director of Composite Materials Research Group Test Facilities (2009)

Outstanding Staff Award

A staff member of the School of Engineering who has demonstrated exemplary service, leadership, and commitment.

The University of Mississippi is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates and baccalaureate, master's, specialist, and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, call 404-679-4500, or visit online at www.sacscoc.org for questions about the accreditation





• Aubrey D Bolen - Staff Assistant (2010)

Faculty Achievement Award

The Faculty Achievement Award is given annually to recognize unusual effort in the classroom, involvement with students, and active scholarship.

- Ellen Lackey Emerita Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Director of Composite Materials Research Group Test Facilities (1999)
- John W Winkle Professor Emeritus of Political Science and Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College (1992)
- <u>James G Vaughan</u> Director Emeritus of the Haley Barbour Center for Manufacturing Excellence; F.A.P. Barnard Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering; Associate Dean Emeritus of the School of Engineering (1989)

Frist Service Award

- Joann M Edwards Speech Instructor and Director of Forensics (2021)
- Ryan Lowery Upshaw ASSISTANT DEAN FOR STUDENT SERVICES (2018)
- MICHAEL W JOHANSSON DIRECTOR OF INTERNATIONAL PROGRAMS (2009)
- John W Winkle Professor Emeritus of Political Science and Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College (2006)
- MAX R MILLER ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR OF PROJECTS (2002)
- VAUGHN L GRISHAM PROFESSOR EMERITUS AND DIRECTOR OF THE GOEORGE MCLEAN CENTER FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT (1998)
- VIRGINIA MARGARET PATTERSON ADMINISTRATIVE COORDINATOR II (1997)
- Patricia C Treloar Director of Developmental Studies (1996)

College of Liberal Arts - Cora Lee Graham Outstanding Teaching of Freshmen

In 1984, Cora Lee Graham of Union City, Tennessee, established an endowment and directed that the proceeds from her gift be used to help retain your better professors who teach the freshman classes in the College of Liberal Arts.

- Jason E Ritchie Associate Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry (2007)
- Cornelis Gispen Visiting Professor Emeritus of International Studies (1994)
- Gerard J Buskes Professor Emeritus of Mathematics (1992)

Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award

The Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the University is selected from nominations submitted by students, alumni and faculty.

- Jason E Ritchie Associate Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry (2023)
- Ethel Young Scurlock Dean of the Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College and Associate Professor of English and African American Studies (2011)
- Ronald A Schroeder Professor Emeritus of English (2001)
- <u>James G Vaughan</u> Director Emeritus of the Haley Barbour Center for Manufacturing Excellence; F.A.P. Barnard Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering; Associate Dean Emeritus of the School of Engineering (1991)
- Natalie Schroeder Professor Emeritus of English (1987)
- John W Winkle Professor Emeritus of Political Science and Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College (1980)
- VAUGHN L GRISHAM PROFESSOR EMERITUS AND DIRECTOR OF THE GOEORGE MCLEAN CENTER FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT
 (1978)

School of Engineering, Faculty Teaching Award

• Ellen Lackey - Emerita Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Director of Composite Materials Research Group Test Facilities (2007)

School of Engineering Outstanding Teacher of the Year

- <u>James G Vaughan</u> Director Emeritus of the Haley Barbour Center for Manufacturing Excellence; F.A.P. Barnard Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering; Associate Dean Emeritus of the School of Engineering (2008)
- Ellen Lackey Emerita Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Director of Composite Materials Research Group Test Facilities (2003)

School of Pharmacy Faculty Research Award

• <u>John S Williamson</u> - Professor Emeritus of Medical Chemistry & Research Professor Emeritus in the Research Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Director of Research Development and Associate Director of Projects (2006)

School of Pharmacy Faculty Service Award

• <u>John S Williamson</u> - Professor Emeritus of Medical Chemistry & Research Professor Emeritus in the Research Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Director of Research Development and Associate Director of Projects (1998)

University of Mississippi Humanities Teacher of the Year

The College of Liberal Arts and the Mississippi Humanities Council co-sponsor this award to highlight an outstanding humanities faculty member each fall during Arts and Humanities Month in October.

• Ethel Young Scurlock - Dean of the Sally McDonnell Barksdale Honors College and Associate Professor of English and African American Studies (2003)

