

Teacher Education

Overview

Academics & Admissions

Programs

Courses

Faculty

Awards

Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards Excellence in Advising Award - Office of the Provost

To recognize outstanding academic advising by a faculty member and to demonstrate the University of Mississippi's commitment to excellent advising.

• Crystal Armstrong Dunn - Coordinator of Advising, Recruitment and Retention (2014)

Staff Council Award - EEO1

• Mary Ann Connell - University Attorney Emerita and Instrutor in Business Administration and Adjunct Professor in Leadership and Counselor Education (1995)

Outstanding Staff Award

A staff member of the School of Engineering who has demonstrated exemplary service, leadership, and commitment.

• Bethany Ferguson LaValley - Coordinator of Professional Development-CMSE (2010)

Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award

The Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the University is selected from nominations submitted by students, alumni and faculty.

• Ann Elizabeth Monroe - Assistant Dean, Director of Assessment, and Associate Professor of Teacher Education (2018)

School of Education Outstanding Service Award

The Exemplary Service Award is presented to a faculty or staff member for exceptional service to the profession, the local or University community, region, state, or national and international scholarly communities during the academic year.

- Laura F Prior Assistant Professor of Teacher Education (2022)
- Sara Ann Grimes Platt Assistant Professor of Special Education (2020)
- Nichelle Catrice Robinson Associate Professor of Teacher Education and School of Education Diversity Officer (2019)
- <u>Denise A Soares</u> Assistant Dean, Director of Graduate Studies, Associate Professor of Special Education, and Interim Director of the National Center for School-University Partnerships (2018)
- Matthew Blake Adams Program Manager (2017)
- Stacy Ryan Niemeyer Assistant Provost for Regional Campuses and Associate Professor of Leadership and Counselor Education (2016)
- Virginia J Moore Associate Professor of Elementary Education (2015)
- Ann Elizabeth Monroe Assistant Dean, Director of Assessment, and Associate Professor of Teacher Education (2012)

School of Education Outstanding Teacher of the Year

- Mary Katherine Naron Instructor in Teacher Education (2022)
- Karen V Davidson Smith Clinical Associate Professor of Teacher Education; School of Education Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (2021)
- Diane Lawrence Lowry Clinical Associate Professor of Special Education (2020)
- Alicia Cooper Stapp Associate Professor of Health and Physical Education (2018)
- Joel C Amidon Associate Professor of Secondary Education (2017)
- Jerilou J Moore Professor Emeritus of Elementary Education (2016)
- Allan Edward Bellman Professor of Mathematics Education (2014)
- OTIS WESTBROOK PICKETT ADJUNCT PROFESSOR (2013)
- Joel C Amidon Associate Professor of Secondary Education (2012)
 Ann Elizabeth Monroe Assistant Dean, Director of Assessment, and Associate Professor of Teacher Education (2010)
- Nichelle Catrice Robinson Associate Professor of Teacher Education and School of Education Diversity Officer (2009)
- Jerilou J Moore Professor Emeritus of Elementary Education (2007)
- · Angela Sykes Rutherford Professor of Teacher Education and Director of the Center for Excellence in Literacy Instruction (2006)
- LUCINDA M LEIGH ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF ELEMENTARY EDUCATION (2005)
- SARAH E BLACKWELL ADJUNCT INSTRUCTOR IN TEACHER EDUCATION (2003)
- Sidney T Rowland Associate Professor Emerita of Teacher Education (2001)
- BOBBIE SMOTHERS JONES ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF CURRICULUM AND INSTRUCTION (2000)
- MARTHA S CHAMBLESS Professor Emerita of Elementary Education (1999)
- PEGGY EMERSON Chair Emerita and Professor Emerita of Curriculum (1998)





School of Education Researcher of the Year

- Kenya Elizabeth Wolff Associate Professor of Early Childhood Education (2022)
- Joel C Amidon Associate Professor of Secondary Education (2020)
- Burhanettin Keskin Professor of Early Childhood Education (2018)
- Kerry P Holmes Professor Emerita of Elementary Education (2017)
- <u>Denise A Soares</u> Assistant Dean, Director of Graduate Studies, Associate Professor of Special Education, and Interim Director of the National Center for School-University Partnerships (2016)
- Joel C Amidon Associate Professor of Secondary Education (2015)
- Allan Edward Bellman Professor of Mathematics Education (2014)
- ANGELA TILL BARLOW ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF CURRICULUM AND INSTRUCTION (2011)
- BARBARA J DOUGHERTY PROFESSOR OF CURRICULUM AND INSTRUCTION (2009)
- DEBORAH A CHESSIN Professor Emerita of Curriculum and Instruction (2005)
- Kerry P Holmes Professor Emerita of Elementary Education (2004)
- William Joseph Sumrall Professor of Elementary Education (2002)
- David Rock Dean of the School of Education and Professor of Curriculum & Instruction (2001)
- JEAN M SHAW Professor Emerita of Curriculum and Instruction (2000)

