

Overview

Academics & Admissions

**Departments** 

Programs

<u>Minors</u>

**Courses** 

Faculty

Awards

#### **Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards** Frederick A.P. Barnard Distinguished Professorships

Frederick A.P. Barnard Distinguished Professors are recognized for their excellence and innovation in teaching and research.

- James G Vaughan ASSOC DEAN & FAP BARNARD DIST PROF OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (1998)
- SAM SHU-YI WANG DIR, NCCHE, INT CH, MECH ENG & FAP BARNARD DIST PROF MECH ENG (1988)

### **Distinguished Research and Creative Achievement Award**

• SAM SHU-YI WANG - DIR, NCCHE, INT CH, MECH ENG & FAP BARNARD DIST PROF MECH ENG (2008)

## **Staff Council Award - EEO3**

• Elizabeth D Stidham - MANAGER OF PROJECT RESOURCES (2006)

### School of Engineering, Junior Faculty Research Award

- Fan Yang ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING (2008)
- Gregory L Easson CHAIR AND ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY & GEOLOGICAL ENGIN (2007)
- Mustafa Muhammad Matalgah ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING (2006)
- GAREY A FOX ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF CIVIL ENGINEERING (2005)
- Robert M Holt ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY (2004)
- <u>Alexander Borisovitch Yakovlev</u> ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING (2003)
- Gregory L Easson CHAIR AND ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY & GEOLOGICAL ENGIN (2002)

## **Outstanding Staff Award**

A staff member of the School of Engineering who has demonstrated exemplary service, leadership, and commitment.

- MARTYE F HICKMAN SUPERVISOR, ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING SHOPS (2008)
- BERNICE HEROD SENIOR ADMINISTRATIVE SECRETARY (2007)
- GENE LAMAR WALKER INSTRUMENT TECHNICIAN (2006)
- Cathy A Grace COORDINATOR, ACADEMIC AND ADMINISTRATIVE AFFAIRS (2005)
- GARY W DENNING SENIOR ELECTRONICS TECHNICIAN (2004)
- GENE LAMAR WALKER INSTRUMENT TECHNICIAN (2003)
- DORIS T VINSON SENIOR SECRETARY (2002)
- R. B. PRIVETT ASSISTANT TO THE DEAN, SCHOOL OF ENGINEERING (2001)

# School of Engineering, Senior Faculty Research Award

- Prabhakar R Mantena PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (2008)
- SAM SHU-YI WANG DIR, NCCHE, INT CH, MECH ENG & FAP BARNARD DIST PROF MECH ENG (2007)
- ATEF Z ELSHERBENI DIR OF MICRO SYS LAB, DIR OF CAD LAB & PROF OF ELECT ENGIN (2006)
- AHMED KISHK DIR OF ANTENNA SYSTEMS LAB & PROF OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING (2005)
- AJIT SADANA PROFESSOR OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING (2004)
- Wei-Yin Chen PROFESSOR OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING (2003)
- SAM SHU-YI WANG DIR, NCCHE, INT CH, MECH ENG & FAP BARNARD DIST PROF MECH ENG (2002)
- AHMED KISHK DIR OF ANTENNA SYSTEMS LAB & PROF OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING (2001)

## **Faculty Achievement Award**

The Faculty Achievement Award is given annually to recognize unusual effort in the classroom, involvement with students, and active scholarship.

• John H O'Haver - ASSOC PROF OF CHEM ENG AND DIR CENTER FOR MATH/SCIENCE EDUC (2000)

The University of Mississippi is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates and baccalaureate, master's, specialist, and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, call 404-679-4500, or visit online at www.sacscoc.org for questions about the accreditation.





- Ellen Lackey ASSOC PROF, MECH ENG & DIR OF COMP MAT RES GRP TEST FACILITY (1999)
- CHARLES E SMITH Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering (1993)
- Jeffrey A Roux PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (1991)
- James G Vaughan ASSOC DEAN & FAP BARNARD DIST PROF OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (1989)

#### **Frist Service Award**

- TERRY L PANHORST ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY AND GEOLOGICAL ENGINEERING (2002)
- PAMELA B LAWHEAD ASSOC PROF, COMP & INFO SCI & DIR OF CTR FOR GEO WKFORCE DEV (1995)

#### Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award

The Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the University is selected from nominations submitted by students, alumni and faculty.

• James G Vaughan - ASSOC DEAN & FAP BARNARD DIST PROF OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (1991)

### School of Engineering, Faculty Service Award

- Dawn E Wilkins ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF COMPUTER AND INFORMATION SCIENCE (2008)
- Prabhakar R Mantena PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (2007)
- Tyrus A McCarty INT. ASST. CHAIR OF M.E., PROF OF M.E., ADMIN SPEC. AFFAIRS (2006)
- ATEF Z ELSHERBENI DIR OF MICRO SYS LAB, DIR OF CAD LAB & PROF OF ELECT ENGIN (2005)
- <u>Alexander H D Cheng</u> CHAIR AND PROFESSOR OF CIVIL ENGINEERING (2004)
- PAMELA B LAWHEAD ASSOC PROF, COMP & INFO SCI & DIR OF CTR FOR GEO WKFORCE DEV (2003)
- ALLEN W GLISSON CHAIR AND PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING (2002)
- Waheed Uddin PROFESSOR OF CIVIL ENG AND DIR CENTER FOR ADV INFRAST TECH (2001)

### School of Engineering, Faculty Teaching Award

- Peter C Sukanek PROFESSOR OF CHEMICAL ENGINGEERING (2008)
- Ellen Lackey ASSOC PROF, MECH ENG & DIR OF COMP MAT RES GRP TEST FACILITY (2007)
- Wei-Yin Chen PROFESSOR OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING (2006)
- Jeffrey A Roux PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (2004)

#### School of Engineering Outstanding Teacher of the Year

- James G Vaughan ASSOC DEAN & FAP BARNARD DIST PROF OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (2008)
- Alexander H D Cheng CHAIR AND PROFESSOR OF CIVIL ENGINEERING (2007)
- Ahmed Hajmohammad-Khalil Al-Ostaz ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF CIVIL ENGINEERING (2006)
- Paul Scovazzo ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF CHEMICAL ENGINEERING (2005)
- ALLEN W GLISSON CHAIR AND PROFESSOR OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING (2004)
- Ellen Lackey ASSOC PROF, MECH ENG & DIR OF COMP MAT RES GRP TEST FACILITY (2003)
- ATEF Z ELSHERBENI DIR OF MICRO SYS LAB, DIR OF CAD LAB & PROF OF ELECT ENGIN (2002)
- John H O'Haver ASSOC PROF OF CHEM ENG AND DIR CENTER FOR MATH/SCIENCE EDUC (2001)
- Jeffrey A Roux PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (1999)
- AHMED KISHK DIR OF ANTENNA SYSTEMS LAB & PROF OF ELECTRICAL ENGINEERING (1998)
- SAM SHU-YI WANG DIR, NCCHE, INT CH, MECH ENG & FAP BARNARD DIST PROF MECH ENG (1985)
- SAM SHU-YI WANG DIR, NCCHE, INT CH, MECH ENG & FAP BARNARD DIST PROF MECH ENG (1977)

The University of Mississippi is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates and baccalaureate, master's, specialist, and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, call 404-679-4500, or visit online at www.sacscoc.org for questions about the accreditation.

