

# **BIOLOGY**

Overview

**Academics & Admissions** 

**Programs** 

**Minors** 

Courses

Faculty

**Awards** 

# Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards Dr. Mike L. Edmonds New Scholar Award

This award will be presented annually to untenured, tenure- track professorial rank faculty members in the College who have demonstrated exemplary performance in research, scholarship, and/or creative achievement.

• Erik F Y Hom - Associate Professor of Biology (2019)

## **Excellence in Advising Award - Office of the Provost**

To recognize outstanding academic advising by a faculty member and to demonstrate the University of Mississippi's commitment to excellent advising.

- Lucile M McCook Project Coordinator (2020)
- Jason Dale Hoeksema Professor of Biology (2012)

#### **Staff Council Award - EEO5**

• JEFFREY W HOWELL - COMPUTER TECHNICIAN (2001)

# **Outstanding Staff Award**

A staff member of the School of Engineering who has demonstrated exemplary service, leadership, and commitment.

• Bethany Ferguson LaValley - Coordinator of Professional Development-CMSE (2010)

## **Faculty Achievement Award**

The Faculty Achievement Award is given annually to recognize unusual effort in the classroom, involvement with students, and active scholarship.

• GARY R GASTON - Professor Emeritus of Biology (2007)

#### Frist Service Award

• Denis Charles Goulet - Instructional Professor Emeritus and Coordinator of Laboratory Programs (2014)

### College of Liberal Arts - Cora Lee Graham Outstanding Teaching of Freshmen

In 1984, Cora Lee Graham of Union City, Tennessee, established an endowment and directed that the proceeds from her gift be used to help retain your better professors who teach the freshman classes in the College of Liberal Arts.

- Colin R Jackson Professor of Biology (2019)
- Tamar Goulet Professor of Biology (2008)
- GARY R GASTON Professor Emeritus of Biology (2002)
- PAUL K LAGO Professor Emeritus of Biology (1995)

