



Overview

Academics & Admissions

Programs

Minors

Courses

Faculty

Awards

Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards Howell Family Outstanding Teacher of the Year

Renamed in 2017, this yearly award recognizes excellence in instruction, care and inspiration of students. CLA faculty members of professorial rank

(assistant to full professor) are eligible. Past recipients, temporary and visiting faculty are ineligible.

• Timothy Paul Yenter - Associate Dean for Capstone and Associate Professor of Philosophy (2022)

College of Liberal Arts - Outstanding Teacher of the Year

In 1985, the College of Liberal Arts began this award to recognize faculty members who demonstrate excellence of class instruction, intellectual stimulation of students, and concern for students welfare.

• William F Lawhead - Professor Emeritus of Philosophy and Religion (1988)

College of Liberal Arts - Cora Lee Graham Outstanding Teaching of Freshmen

In 1984, Cora Lee Graham of Union City, Tennessee, established an endowment and directed that the proceeds from her gift be used to help retain your better professors who teach the freshman classes in the College of Liberal Arts.

- Neil A Manson Professor of Philosophy (2021)
- Sarah M Moses Associate Professor of Religion (2013)

University of Mississippi Humanities Teacher of the Year

The College of Liberal Arts and the Mississippi Humanities Council co-sponsor this award to highlight an outstanding humanities faculty member each fall during Arts and Humanities Month in October.

• William F Lawhead - Professor Emeritus of Philosophy and Religion (2002)

The University of Mississippi is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates and baccalaureate, master's, specialist, and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, call 404-679-4500, or visit online at www.sacscoc.org for questions about the accreditation.

