310 Bishop Hall, University, MS 38677 http://history.olemiss.edu

ARCH DALRYMPLE III DEPARTMENT OF HISTORY

Overview

Academics & Admissions

Programs

Minors

Courses

Faculty

Awards

Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards Frederick A.P. Barnard Distinguished Professorships

Frederick A.P. Barnard Distinguished Professors are recognized for their excellence and innovation in teaching and research.

• WINTHROP D JORDAN - WILLIAM F WINTER PROFESSOR OF HISTORY AND PROFESSOR OF AFRICAN AMERICAN STUDIES (1998)

College of Liberal Arts - Outstanding Teacher of the Year

In 1985, the College of Liberal Arts began this award to recognize faculty members who demonstrate excellence of class instruction, intellectual stimulation of students, and concern for students welfare.

- John R Neff ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF HISTORY (2005)
- Douglass Sullivan-Gonzalez DEAN OF THE SALLY MCDONNELL BARKSDALE HONORS COLLEGE AND PROFESSOR OF HISTORY (2001)
- SHEILA SKEMP Professor Emeritus of History (1985)

Award for Excellence in Promoting Inclusiveness in Graduate Education

• Joseph P Ward - CHAIR AND PROFESSOR OF HISTORY (2006)

Distinguished Research and Creative Achievement Award

• CHARLES R WILSON - Professor Emeritus of History and Southern Studies (2010)

Faculty Achievement Award

The Faculty Achievement Award is given annually to recognize unusual effort in the classroom, involvement with students, and active scholarship.

• SHEILA SKEMP - Professor Emeritus of History (2009)

Frist Service Award

• Charles W Eagles - WILLIAM F WINTER PROFESSOR OF HISTORY (2010)

College of Liberal Arts - Cora Lee Graham Outstanding Teaching of Freshmen

In 1984, Cora Lee Graham of Union City, Tennessee, established an endowment and directed that the proceeds from her gift be used to help retain your better professors who teach the freshman classes in the College of Liberal Arts.

- Cornelis Gispen EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF THE CROFT INSTITUTE AND PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF HISTORY (1994)
- Jeffrey R Watt COOK CHAIR AND PROFESSOR OF HISTORY (1991)

Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award

The Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the University is selected from nominations submitted by students, alumni and faculty.

• John R Neff - ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF HISTORY (2009)

University of Mississippi Humanities Teacher of the Year

The College of Liberal Arts and the Mississippi Humanities Council co-sponsor this award to highlight an outstanding humanities faculty member each fall during Arts and Humanities Month in October.

- John R Neff ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF HISTORY (2009)
- Jeffrey R Watt COOK CHAIR AND PROFESSOR OF HISTORY (2007)
- WINTHROP D JORDAN WILLIAM F WINTER PROFESSOR OF HISTORY AND PROFESSOR OF AFRICAN AMERICAN STUDIES (1998)
- CHARLES R WILSON Professor Emeritus of History and Southern Studies (1997)

