

UNIVERSITY PROGRAMS

Overview

Departments

Programs

Courses

Faculty

Awards

Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards Frederick A.P. Barnard Distinguished Professorships

Frederick A.P. Barnard Distinguished Professors are recognized for their excellence and innovation in teaching and research.

 James G Vaughan - DIRECTOR OF THE CENTER FOR MANUFACTURING EXCELLENCE AND FAP BARNARD DISTINGUISHED PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (1998)

College of Liberal Arts - Outstanding Teacher of the Year

In 1985, the College of Liberal Arts began this award to recognize faculty members who demonstrate excellence of class instruction, intellectual stimulation of students, and concern for students welfare.

- Ethel Young Scurlock ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF ENGLISH AND AFRICAN-AMERICAN STUDIES AND SENIOR FELLOW OF LUCKYDAY RESIDENTIAL COLLEGE (2003)
- Douglass Sullivan-Gonzalez DEAN, SALLY MCDONNELL BARKSDALE HONORS COLLEGE AND ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF HISTORY (2001)

Award for Excellence in Promoting Inclusiveness in Graduate Education

- Gerard J Buskes PROFESSOR OF MATHEMATICS (2011)
- John S Williamson PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF MEDICAL CHEMISTRY & RESEARCH PROFESSOR EMERITUS IN THE RESEARCH INSTITUTE OF PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES (2008)

Staff Council Award - Overall

- Brenda P Brannan EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT (2002)
- Bonita P Brown PROJECT COORDINATOR (1990)

Staff Council Award - EEO1

• David K Wells - SENIOR ASSOCIATE ATHLETIC DIRECTOR FOR COMPLIANCE EMERITUS (1991)

Staff Council Award - EEO3

- Penny D Leeton COORDINATOR OF SALLY MCDONNELL BARKSDALE HONORS COLLEGE (2010)
- MAX R MILLER ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR OF PROJECTS (1999)

Staff Council Award - EEO4

- Brenda P Brannan EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT (1995)
- Bonita P Brown PROJECT COORDINATOR (1990)

Staff Council Award - EEO5

• Lee H Dean - COORDINATOR OF INTERACTIVE VIDEO NETWORK (2003)

School of Engineering, Junior Faculty Research Award

• <u>Ellen Lackey</u> - PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING AND DIRECTOR OF COMPOSITE MATERIALS RESEARCH GROUP TEST FACILITIES (2009)

Faculty Achievement Award

The Faculty Achievement Award is given annually to recognize unusual effort in the classroom, involvement with students, and active scholarship.

- <u>Ellen Lackey</u> PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING AND DIRECTOR OF COMPOSITE MATERIALS RESEARCH GROUP TEST FACILITIES (1999)
- John W Winkle PROFESSOR OF POLITICAL SCIENCE (1992)
- <u>James G Vaughan</u> DIRECTOR OF THE CENTER FOR MANUFACTURING EXCELLENCE AND FAP BARNARD DISTINGUISHED PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (1989)

Frist Service Award

- R Dewey Knight ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR OF FINANCIAL AID (2012)
- John W Winkle PROFESSOR OF POLITICAL SCIENCE (2006)
- James M O'Neal ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF CHEMISTRY AND BIOCHEMISTRY (2003)



The University of Mississippi is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates and baccalaureate, master's, specialist, and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, call 404-679-4500, or visit online at www.sacscoc.org for questions about the accreditation.



- MAX R MILLER ASSOCIATE DIRECTOR OF PROJECTS (2002)
- VAUGHN L GRISHAM PROFESSOR EMERITUS AND DIRECTOR OF THE GOEORGE MCLEAN CENTER FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT (1998)
- VIRGINIA MARGARET PATTERSON ADMINISTRATIVE COORDINATOR II (1997)
- Patricia C Treloar DIRECTOR OF DEVELOPMENTAL STUDIES (1996)

College of Liberal Arts - Cora Lee Graham Outstanding Teaching of Freshmen

In 1984, Cora Lee Graham of Union City, Tennessee, established an endowment and directed that the proceeds from her gift be used to help retain your better professors who teach the freshman classes in the College of Liberal Arts.

- Jason E Ritchie ASSISTANT DEAN FOR UNDERGRADUATE RESEARCH AND ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF CHEMISTRY AND BIOCHEMISTRY (2007)
- Cornelis Gispen EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR OF THE CROFT INSTITUTE AND PROFESSOR OF HISTORY (1994)
- Gerard J Buskes PROFESSOR OF MATHEMATICS (1992)

Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award

The Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the University is selected from nominations submitted by students, alumni and faculty.

- <u>Ethel Young Scurlock</u> ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF ENGLISH AND AFRICAN-AMERICAN STUDIES AND SENIOR FELLOW OF LUCKYDAY RESIDENTIAL COLLEGE (2011)
- James G Vaughan DIRECTOR OF THE CENTER FOR MANUFACTURING EXCELLENCE AND FAP BARNARD DISTINGUISHED PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (1991)
- John W Winkle PROFESSOR OF POLITICAL SCIENCE (1980)
- VAUGHN L GRISHAM PROFESSOR EMERITUS AND DIRECTOR OF THE GOEORGE MCLEAN CENTER FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT (1978)

School of Engineering, Faculty Teaching Award

• <u>Ellen Lackey</u> - PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING AND DIRECTOR OF COMPOSITE MATERIALS RESEARCH GROUP TEST FACILITIES (2007)

School of Engineering Outstanding Teacher of the Year

- <u>James G Vaughan</u> DIRECTOR OF THE CENTER FOR MANUFACTURING EXCELLENCE AND FAP BARNARD DISTINGUISHED PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING (2008)
- <u>Ellen Lackey</u> PROFESSOR OF MECHANICAL ENGINEERING AND DIRECTOR OF COMPOSITE MATERIALS RESEARCH GROUP TEST FACILITIES (2003)

School of Pharmacy Faculty Research Award

• <u>John S Williamson</u> - PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF MEDICAL CHEMISTRY & RESEARCH PROFESSOR EMERITUS IN THE RESEARCH INSTITUTE OF PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES (2006)

School of Pharmacy Faculty Service Award

• <u>John S Williamson</u> - PROFESSOR EMERITUS OF MEDICAL CHEMISTRY & RESEARCH PROFESSOR EMERITUS IN THE RESEARCH INSTITUTE OF PHARMACEUTICAL SCIENCES (1998)

University of Mississippi Humanities Teacher of the Year

The College of Liberal Arts and the Mississippi Humanities Council co-sponsor this award to highlight an outstanding humanities faculty member each fall during Arts and Humanities Month in October.

• Ethel Young Scurlock - ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF ENGLISH AND AFRICAN-AMERICAN STUDIES AND SENIOR FELLOW OF LUCKYDAY RESIDENTIAL COLLEGE (2003)

