SOCIOLOGY & ANTHROPOLOGY | Fall 2012-13

510 Lamar Hall, University, MS 38677 http://socanth.olemiss.edu



SOCIOLOGY & ANTHROPOLOGY

Overview

Academics & Admissions

Programs

Minors

Courses

Faculty

Awards

Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards College of Liberal Arts - Outstanding Teacher of the Year

In 1985, the College of Liberal Arts began this award to recognize faculty members who demonstrate excellence of class instruction, intellectual stimulation of students, and concern for students welfare.

• Ross Jay Haenfler - ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF SOCIOLOGY (2009)

Award for Excellence in Promoting Inclusiveness in Graduate Education • Kirsten A Dellinger - CHAIR OF SOCIOLOGY AND ANTHROPOLOGY AND ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF SOCIOLOGY (2012)

Frist Service Award

• VAUGHN L GRISHAM - PROFESSOR EMERITUS AND DIRECTOR OF THE GOEORGE MCLEAN CENTER FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT (1998)

College of Liberal Arts - Cora Lee Graham Outstanding Teaching of Freshmen

In 1984, Cora Lee Graham of Union City, Tennessee, established an endowment and directed that the proceeds from her gift be used to help retain your better professors who teach the freshman classes in the College of Liberal Arts.

• Jeffrey T Jackson - ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF SOCIOLOGY (2012)

Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award

The Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the University is selected from nominations submitted by students, alumni and faculty.

• VAUGHN L GRISHAM - PROFESSOR EMERITUS AND DIRECTOR OF THE GOEORGE MCLEAN CENTER FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT (1978)

Distinguished Faculty Fellows (Liberal Arts)

In 2002, the College of Liberal Arts began the Distinguished Faculty Fellowship Program to reward and support senior faculty members who have distinguished records of research, teaching, and service.

• JAY K JOHNSON - PROFESSOR OF ANTHROPOLOGY AND DIRECTOR OF ARCHAEOLOGICAL RESEARCH CENTER OF SOCIOLOGY AND ANTHROPOLOGY (2007)

University of Mississippi Humanities Teacher of the Year

The College of Liberal Arts and the Mississippi Humanities Council co-sponsor this award to highlight an outstanding humanities faculty member each fall during Arts and Humanities Month in October.

• Jeffrey T Jackson - ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF SOCIOLOGY (2012)

