

Overview

Academics & Admissions

Programs

Minors

Courses

Faculty

Awards

Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards Dr. Mike L. Edmonds New Scholar Award

This award will be presented annually to untenured, tenure- track professorial rank faculty members in the College who have demonstrated exemplary performance in research, scholarship, and/or creative achievement.

• Thai Hoang Le - Associate Professor of Mathematics (2021)

College of Liberal Arts - Outstanding Teacher of the Year

In 1985, the College of Liberal Arts began this award to recognize faculty members who demonstrate excellence of class instruction, intellectual stimulation of students, and concern for students welfare.

- Gerard J Buskes Professor of Mathematics (2016)
- Talmage James Reid Chair and Professor of Mathematics (1994)

Liberal Arts-RSRCH, Scholarship, & Creative Achievement Award in the Humanities

This award will be presented annually to tenured faculty members in the College in recognition of sustained exemplary performance in research, scholarship, and/or creative achievement at the national/international level.

• Bing Wei - Professor of Mathematics (2019)

Award for Excellence in Promoting Inclusiveness in Graduate Education

Gerard J Buskes - Professor of Mathematics (2011)

Staff Council Award - EEO4

• Stephanie Brown - Operations Coordinator II (2022)

Faculty Achievement Award

The Faculty Achievement Award is given annually to recognize unusual effort in the classroom, involvement with students, and active scholarship. • WILLIAM A STATON - Professor Emeritus of Mathematics (1997)

Frist Service Award

- WILLIAM A STATON Professor Emeritus of Mathematics (1999)
- Patricia C Treloar Director of Developmental Studies (1996)

College of Liberal Arts - Cora Lee Graham Outstanding Teaching of Freshmen

In 1984, Cora Lee Graham of Union City, Tennessee, established an endowment and directed that the proceeds from her gift be used to help retain your better professors who teach the freshman classes in the College of Liberal Arts.

Gerard J Buskes - Professor of Mathematics (1992)

Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award

The Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the University is selected from nominations submitted by students, alumni and faculty. • WILLIAM A STATON - Professor Emeritus of Mathematics (1988)



The University of Mississippi is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates and baccalaureate, master's, specialist, and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, call 404-679-4500, or visit online at www.sacscoc.org for questions about the accreditation