510 Lamar Hall, University, MS 38677 http://socanth.olemiss.edu



Sociology & Anthropology

Overview

Academics & Admissions

Programs

<u>Minors</u>

Courses

Faculty

Awards

Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards College of Liberal Arts - Instructor of the Year

The award was created in 2011. They are recognized during the commencement ceremony, have their names added to a plaque, and receive \$1,000. Eligibility is limited to instructors, lecturers, senior lecturers, and instructional assistant professors.

• Matthew Leigh Murray - Instructional Professor of Sociology and Anthropology (2016)

Dr. Mike L. Edmonds New Scholar Award

This award will be presented annually to untenured, tenure- track professorial rank faculty members in the College who have demonstrated exemplary performance in research, scholarship, and/or creative achievement.

- Anne Elizabeth Marie Cafer Associate Dean for Research, Scholarship and Graduate Education and Associate Professor of Sociology (2020)
- Carolyn R Freiwald Associate Professor of Anthropology (2019)
- James Michael Thomas Associate Professor of Sociology and Sociology Graduate Program Coordinator (2018)

College of Liberal Arts - Outstanding Teacher of the Year

In 1985, the College of Liberal Arts began this award to recognize faculty members who demonstrate excellence of class instruction, intellectual stimulation of students, and concern for students welfare.

• Ross Jay Haenfler - Adjunct Associate Professor of Sociology (2009)

Liberal Arts-RSRCH, Scholarship, & Creative Achievement Award in the Humanities

This award will be presented annually to tenured faculty members in the College in recognition of sustained exemplary performance in research, scholarship, and/or creative achievement at the national/international level.

- John J Green Professor of Sociology and Director of the Interdisciplinary Minor in Society and Health (2018)
- Robbie Ethridge Professor Emeritia of Anthropology (2017)

Award for Excellence in Promoting Inclusiveness in Graduate Education

• Kirsten A Dellinger - Associate Dean for Access and Strategic Initiatives and Professor of Sociology (2012)

Frist Service Award

VAUGHN L GRISHAM - PROFESSOR EMERITUS AND DIRECTOR OF THE GOEORGE MCLEAN CENTER FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT (1998)

College of Liberal Arts - Cora Lee Graham Outstanding Teaching of Freshmen

In 1984, Cora Lee Graham of Union City, Tennessee, established an endowment and directed that the proceeds from her gift be used to help retain your better professors who teach the freshman classes in the College of Liberal Arts.

• Jeffrey T Jackson - Chair of Sociology and Anthropology and Professor of Sociology (2012)

Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award

The Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the University is selected from nominations submitted by students, alumni and faculty.

VAUGHN L GRISHAM - PROFESSOR EMERITUS AND DIRECTOR OF THE GOEORGE MCLEAN CENTER FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT (1978)

Distinguished Faculty Fellows (Liberal Arts)

In 2002, the College of Liberal Arts began the Distinguished Faculty Fellowship Program to reward and support senior faculty members who have distinguished records of research, teaching, and service.

• JAY K JOHNSON - Professor Emeritus of Anthropology (2007)

University of Mississippi Humanities Teacher of the Year

The College of Liberal Arts and the Mississippi Humanities Council co-sponsor this award to highlight an outstanding humanities faculty member each fall during Arts and Humanities Month in October.

The University of Mississippi is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates and baccalaureate, master's, specialist, and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, call 404-679-4500, or visit online at www.sacscoc.org for questions about the accreditation.





http://socanth.olemiss.edu



• <u>Jeffrey T Jackson</u> - Chair of Sociology and Anthropology and Professor of Sociology (2012)