

Chemistry & Biochemistry

<u>Overview</u>

Academics & Admissions

Programs

<u>Minors</u>

Courses

Faculty

Awards

Distinguished Faculty and Staff Awards College of Liberal Arts - Instructor of the Year

The award was created in 2011. They are recognized during the commencement ceremony, have their names added to a plaque, and receive \$1,000. Eligibility is limited to instructors, lecturers, senior lecturers, and instructional assistant professors.

- Emily Bretherick Rowland Instructional Associate Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry (2022)
- Gerald Bobby Rowland Instructional Associate Professor in Chemistry & Biochemistry (2019)

Dr. Mike L. Edmonds New Scholar Award

This award will be presented annually to untenured, tenure- track professorial rank faculty members in the College who have demonstrated exemplary performance in research, scholarship, and/or creative achievement.

- Saumen Chakraborty Associate Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry (2022)
- Jonah Wesley Jurss Associate Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry (2020)
- Davita Watkins Associate Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry (2018)
- Jared Heath Delcamp Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry (2017)

College of Liberal Arts - Outstanding Teacher of the Year

In 1985, the College of Liberal Arts began this award to recognize faculty members who demonstrate excellence of class instruction, intellectual stimulation of students, and concern for students welfare.

- Susan Diane Pedigo Professor Emeritus of Chemistry & Biochemistry (2012)
- Daniell L Mattern Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry (1998)

Liberal Arts-RSRCH, Scholarship, & Creative Achievement Award in the Humanities

This award will be presented annually to tenured faculty members in the College in recognition of sustained exemplary performance in research, scholarship, and/or creative achievement at the national/international level.

- Amala Dass Associate Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry (2020)
- Nathan I Hammer Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry (2018)

Award for Excellence in Promoting Inclusiveness in Graduate Education

• Walter E Cleland - Associate Chair Emeritus and Associate Professor Emeritus of Chemistry & Biochemistry (2012)

Distinguished Research and Creative Achievement Award

- Gregory S Tschumper Adjunct Professor of Chemistry (2021)
- Charles L Hussey Associate Dean Emeritus for Research & Graduate Education and Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Chemistry and Biochemistry (2015)

The Distinguished Professor Award

The Award acknowledges outstanding faculty by conferring the honorific title of Distinguished Professor. Appointment as a Distinguished Professor is reserved for only the very best faculty members in recognition of sustained excellence.

• Charles L Hussey - Associate Dean Emeritus for Research & Graduate Education and Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Chemistry and Biochemistry (2019)

Excellence in Advising Award - Office of the Provost

To recognize outstanding academic advising by a faculty member and to demonstrate the University of Mississippi's commitment to excellent advising.

• Kerri D Scott - Associate Chair, Instructional Professor, and Associate Coordinator of Forensic Chemistry (2013)

Staff Council Award - EEO6

The University of Mississippi is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates and baccalaureate, master's, specialist, and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, call 404-679-4500, or visit online at www.sacscoc.org for questions about the accreditation.





<u>Stephen L Moore</u> - Stockroom Coordinator (2008)

School of Engineering, Junior Faculty Research Award

• Dana Reinemann - Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Affiliate Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering (2023)

Faculty Achievement Award

The Faculty Achievement Award is given annually to recognize unusual effort in the classroom, involvement with students, and active scholarship.

- Nathan I Hammer Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry (2021)
- Gregory S Tschumper Adjunct Professor of Chemistry (2015)
- Charles L Hussey Associate Dean Emeritus for Research & Graduate Education and Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Chemistry and Biochemistry (1996)

Frist Service Award

- Eden Elizabeth Louise Tanner Assistant Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry (2022)
- Kerri D Scott Associate Chair, Instructional Professor, and Associate Coordinator of Forensic Chemistry (2018)
- James M O'Neal INSTRUCTIONAL ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF CHEMISTRY AND BIOCHEMISTRY (2003)

College of Liberal Arts - Cora Lee Graham Outstanding Teaching of Freshmen

In 1984, Cora Lee Graham of Union City, Tennessee, established an endowment and directed that the proceeds from her gift be used to help retain your better professors who teach the freshman classes in the College of Liberal Arts.

- Steven R Davis Professor Emeritus of Chemistry & Biochemistry (2017)
- Gregory S Tschumper Adjunct Professor of Chemistry (2009)
- Jason E Ritchie Associate Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry (2007)
- Walter E Cleland Associate Chair Emeritus and Associate Professor Emeritus of Chemistry & Biochemistry (1997)
- WILLIAM D SCOTT ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF CHEMISTRY AND BIOCHEMISTRY (1993)
- Jon F Parcher Research Professor of National Center for Natural Product Research (1987)

Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher Award

The Elsie M. Hood Outstanding Teacher of the Year for the University is selected from nominations submitted by students, alumni and faculty.

- Jason E Ritchie Associate Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry (2023)
- Daniell L Mattern Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry (1992)

Distinguished Faculty Fellows (Liberal Arts)

In 2002, the College of Liberal Arts began the Distinguished Faculty Fellowship Program to reward and support senior faculty members who have distinguished records of research, teaching, and service.

• DAVID E GRAVES - PROFESSOR OF CHEMISTRY AND BIOCHEMISTRY (2003)

SEC Faculty Achievement Awards Program UM Nominee

The SEC Faculty Achievement Awards program recognizes extraordinary faculty accomplishments at SEC universities. This award honors those with outstanding records in both teaching and scholarship who serve as role models for junior faculty and students.

 Charles L Hussey - Associate Dean Emeritus for Research & Graduate Education and Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Chemistry and Biochemistry (2015)

School of Engineering, Faculty Service Award

• Dana Reinemann - Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Affiliate Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering (2020)

Melinda & Ben Yarbrough, M.D., Sr Research Award in Natural Science & Math

Melinda & Ben Yarbrough, M.D., Senior Research Award given to tenured faculty in Natural Sciences or Mathematics for national/international research, scholarship & creative achievement of scholarly influence & positive contributions to their department.

• Jared Heath Delcamp - Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry (2022)



The University of Mississippi is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award certificates and baccalaureate, master's, specialist, and doctoral degrees. Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, call 404-679-4500, or visit online at www.sacscoc.org for questions about the accreditation.